Hacking Can a private header for online come from any game?

Korma

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 11, 2014
Messages
54
Trophies
0
XP
1,084
Country
United States
IIRC yes, they can come from any game, but usually it will only work on games of the same original size. eg: ORAS(16gb) patched with a FE:A(16gb) header. I may be wrong about that though.
 

Pedeadstrian

GBAtemp's Official frill-necked lizard.
Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2012
Messages
3,964
Trophies
2
Location
Sandy Eggo
XP
3,603
Country
United States
IIRC yes, they can come from any game, but usually it will only work on games of the same original size. eg: ORAS(16gb) patched with a FE:A(16gb) header. I may be wrong about that though.
You are. I've used the same Metal Gear Solid header for all of my games and I've yet to have any problems. So it's either an anything goes kind of thing, or it may be that you have to use a header from a game with greater than or equal size.
 

fuzzdawg11

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 12, 2014
Messages
41
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
41
Country
United States
Question: Is it safe to play a NON-ONLINE game, such as Majora's Mask, on a Gateway/Sky3DS with a public header? Should a Sky3DS or Gateway ALWAYS be offline and disconnected from Wifi when a ROM is loaded that has a public header?
 

Pedeadstrian

GBAtemp's Official frill-necked lizard.
Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2012
Messages
3,964
Trophies
2
Location
Sandy Eggo
XP
3,603
Country
United States
Question: Is it safe to play a NON-ONLINE game, such as Majora's Mask, on a Gateway/Sky3DS with a public header? Should a Sky3DS or Gateway ALWAYS be offline and disconnected from Wifi when a ROM is loaded that has a public header?
We don't know what the criteria is for Nintendo banning people. At the moment, there is no confirmed "safe" option. The safest bet, aside from not using ROMs, is to be completely offline.
 

fuzzdawg11

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 12, 2014
Messages
41
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
41
Country
United States
Seems like Nintendo went the route of combating Sky3DS and Gateway like this....

Wait to sell as many 3DS's as possible for Christmas. Then announce the N3DS. Subsequently, start banning Sky3DS and Gateway users, rendering their hardware useless for online and forcing them to update to the N3DS, spending $200 more. LOL
 
  • Like
Reactions: MattKimura

Thomas12345

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2014
Messages
551
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
271
Country
Canada
You are. I've used the same Metal Gear Solid header for all of my games and I've yet to have any problems. So it's either an anything goes kind of thing, or it may be that you have to use a header from a game with greater than or equal size.

LOL i'd better switch to private headers soon, I've been using that MGS header for a long time too
 

thorasgar

Checkout my evil Soon-in-ator™
Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
3,783
Trophies
1
XP
2,493
Country
United States
Question: Is it safe to play a NON-ONLINE game, such as Majora's Mask, on a Gateway/Sky3DS with a public header? Should a Sky3DS or Gateway ALWAYS be offline and disconnected from Wifi when a ROM is loaded that has a public header?
roms only need a header for online, so don't bother with offline games.
 
  • Like
Reactions: fuzzdawg11

Lucifer666

all the world needs is me
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
1,627
Trophies
1
Location
The Fourth Dimension
XP
2,160
Country
United Kingdom
Question: Is it safe to play a NON-ONLINE game, such as Majora's Mask, on a Gateway/Sky3DS with a public header? Should a Sky3DS or Gateway ALWAYS be offline and disconnected from Wifi when a ROM is loaded that has a public header?

for majora's mask i'm just using a .3ds file so, no headers at all

but Sky works differently doesn't it, hm. any way to edit the template file to remove the header altogether?
 

thorasgar

Checkout my evil Soon-in-ator™
Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
3,783
Trophies
1
XP
2,493
Country
United States
How do you already have a copy of MM?
I don't have a sky so I am only loosely follow the sky scene. I don't see how nintendo can ban people when they are not online with a game. It just doesn't make sense.

Lots of us got MM yesterday. There was a EU dump of the game. Not sure if it was made to work with SKY or not becuase of the region locking. Initially the cia version was not working on US consoles but reports are that was corrected. The .3ds file worked for me. Take a look at the MM thread in this sub.
 

Jiro2

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2011
Messages
776
Trophies
0
XP
581
Country
United States
IIRC yes, they can come from any game, but usually it will only work on games of the same original size. eg: ORAS(16gb) patched with a FE:A(16gb) header. I may be wrong about that though.

The header contains a field stating the size of the game. You can modify this field when inserting the header.
 

OrangeFlavored

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
87
Trophies
0
XP
284
Country
United States
IIRC yes, they can come from any game, but usually it will only work on games of the same original size. eg: ORAS(16gb) patched with a FE:A(16gb) header. I may be wrong about that though.

Doesn't the Gateway Patcher automatically fix this for you? (Though you have to copy the new ID code and hit apply again)
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    K3N1 @ K3N1: Although the wax of a candle could probably be melted down and repurposed with a fresh wick...