Can a digi cam be used as a SD card reader?

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by charchar123, Aug 20, 2006.

Aug 20, 2006
  1. charchar123
    OP

    Newcomer charchar123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Canada
    Well I'm going to get my M3 in the mail soon and I dont have my SD card reader and the 2gb SD card bought yet. I was wondering if I can use my digi cam as a card reader to drop files in there for my M3?
     
  2. science

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    Depends if you can access the SD card as a removable drive, if you can then its fine, but a seperate card reader is more conveniant.
     
  3. Xcist

    Newcomer Xcist Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes you can. I use it with my Nikon Coolpix S6. [​IMG]

    Like seja said, in your camera, try to look for a setting to change connect mode from CAMERA to REMOVABLE DRIVE. Once it's on Removable Drive, you'll have no problem. [​IMG]
     
  4. bobfrompikecreek

    Newcomer bobfrompikecreek Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh wow! DFA79 avatar/sig! I'm new here so please tolerate my shock. Are you as upset as I am over the fact that they broke up?
     
  5. ijustchillin

    Newcomer ijustchillin Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    I would suggest that you only use your camera as a temporary card reader until you get a real SD card reader. I don't like the idea of using a $300+ camera as a card reader, but that's just me.
     
  6. yuwing

    Member yuwing GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    Canada
    If you can plug the camera to the PC, yes u can (for cannon)
     
  7. dirtyweasel

    Newcomer dirtyweasel Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    Not all, it depends on the camera. My Canon doesn't show the camera as a removable drive. I can transfer pictures to the computer, but it doesn't allow me to transfer anything to the camera.

    Most cameras from the past few years do allow you to read and write to the media.
     
  8. charchar123
    OP

    Newcomer charchar123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Canada
    It works but it drains the battery out of your camera. One time I left my camera on and the battery was depleted. The transfering speeds are really slow too.
     
  9. meteora91

    Newcomer meteora91 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Heh, i'm using my printer as a card reader.
    I can choose an option to open it into a folder - H drive.
    Or i could open it up throught My Computer.
     
  10. lookout

    Member lookout GBAtemp Board Room

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,619
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i here to show-off my 24" TFT build-in card reader [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    i getting a new 30" HD in the future
     

Share This Page