Call Of Duty: World At War PC MP Beta

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Trolly, Oct 30, 2008.

Oct 30, 2008
  1. Trolly
    OP

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The PC Multiplayer Beta started a couple of days ago, and thankfully no limit is in place. Just go and register at Call Of Duty HQ (you'll then automatically be given your CD Key for the beta) and download the Beta Installer via one of the mirrors and you'll be good to go! Currently downloading, this should be awesome [​IMG]

    Source (And Registration Link): http://www.callofduty.com/intel/158
     


  2. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I'm a big fan of the CoD series, but my bandwith limit prevents me of downloading this....
    Really a shame, but I'll get the full game for sure in 2 weeks!
     
  3. Trolly
    OP

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeeeah, I have a bandwidth limit too, but thankfully my internet's up to speed tonight. No doubt I'll suffer from it another night though. CURSE YOU VIRGIN MEDIA!
     
  4. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I'm still not bored with Call of Duty 2 multiplayer though, best MP shooter ever [​IMG]
    I've bought the game 3 years ago, and I still play it daily online.
     
  5. Forstride

    Member Forstride The rudder moves when I turn the wheel

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,763
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Country:
    United States
    I've had it downloaded since the release, but it keeps giving me errors (Not the DirectX one, but the one where it closes and says it encountered an unexpected error). I loved CoD4 on PC (Still play it), so I hope I can at least try the beta for this to see if I should get it.
     
  6. Lee79

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I registered but can't be bothered to download, going to play COD4. Here is the Key if anyone wants it without having to register. "PC3W-U37W-9SP3-J7SA-8E63"
     
  7. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    too bad my comp can't run it...o well gettin a new one in feb so i can wait.
     
  8. Trolly
    OP

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Eurgh, screwed myself over with this one. I downloaded it and now by connection's been throttled, so it's too laggy to play [​IMG]. Seems pretty much the same as CoD 4 tbh, just with WW2 stuff though (as pretty much everyone else has said aha).
     
  9. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    That's what I always wanted tbh, a CoD 2 setting with Perks, levels and all that shit from CoD 4.
    But I have a few questions:

    Can you shoot through walls (like CoD 4?)
    What's the max. level now?
    And the main question, is the gameplay more like CoD 2?
     
  10. Trolly
    OP

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep, you can shoot through walls just like in CoD 4. The max level in the beta is 40, and in the final release it will be 65. And tbh, I've only ever played CoD 2 very briefly, so i can't really comment, but it really is just the same as CoD 4 with WW2 setting!
     
  11. CockroachMan

    Member CockroachMan Scribbling around GBATemp's kitchen.

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,889
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    Played it yesterday.. and yep.. it's pretty much CoD4 on WWII [​IMG]

    The pack of dogs thing is pretty cool thought XD
     
  12. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    Just played 3 rounds of Team Deathmatch on it (so I can go to all the maps haha) and it's quite fun. As everyone says, it's COD4 in 1944, but it's a little more balanced (airbombing is not very frequent, and when it happens it makes cool sounds to its all good [​IMG]).

    I definitely recommend downloading it, I'll probably buy the game when it is released.
     
  13. Rock Raiyu

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    The beta is nice. I love my computer for being able to run it
     
  14. Rowan

    Member Rowan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    714
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it takes ages to dl
    :'(
     
  15. tinymonkeyt

    Member tinymonkeyt GBAtemp brat

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,221
    Country:
    United States
    i though you had to buy COD for PC :/
     
  16. Forstride

    Member Forstride The rudder moves when I turn the wheel

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,763
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, you do...But this is just a beta release.
     
  17. tinymonkeyt

    Member tinymonkeyt GBAtemp brat

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,221
    Country:
    United States
    so what happens after the BETA period?
     
  18. Rock Raiyu

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    As far as I know, there isn't a set period for the beta.
     
  19. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,738
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am still enjoying STALKER so I have no time for demos (even if it is Call of Duty), not to mention my motherboard killed one of the graphics slots and single card is not so good.
    Still apparently "discovery32" upped it to usenet in a.b.dvd (call with a limit in the hundreds of megabytes brings it up in a basic search).
    Failing that:
    "discovery32 call of duty 5 - world at war (6)[01/39] - "discovery32 call of duty 5 - world at war.par2" yEnc (1/1)"

    I have absolutely no confirmation that it is the right file (sizes look correct but anyone can make a file of a given size), merely that it is there.

    There are numerous threads around on usenet so I suggest you consult one of those.
     
  20. tinymonkeyt

    Member tinymonkeyt GBAtemp brat

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,221
    Country:
    United States
    i doubt my computer can play it but im still downloading..
    i really wanna play a good FPS online w/ other people :[
     

Share This Page