Hacking Buying a second PS3 for hacking purposes?

LittleRedRidingH

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Hi guys, I'm thinking about buying a second ps3 so I can play "backed up" games. I already have ps3 slim 250gb but sadly it's been updated to 3.60 so it's unhackable as of yet. Do you guys think it's a good idea for me to buy another one whilst keeping my current ps3? I've paid good money for it and it's hardly been used so I really don't want to sell it. I was thinking if I buy a used ps3 and hack that instead, that way I wouldn't be too upset if something goes wrong. I'm completely new to all this so I have a feeling I might mess things up. Also which model is better for hacking purposes? Fat or slim? Thank you.

Originality

Chibi-neko
Trophies
Website
metalix.deviantart.com
XP
Country
If you're buying used, there's no real difference between the two models and how hackable they are, so long as they haven't been updated to 3.56 or above. Just keep in mind that some fat PS3s get PS2 comparability, and that fat PS3s are more prone to YLOD.

As for whether it's a "good idea"... Nobody can answer that for you. What do you hope to get out of a hacked PS3? Piracy? Sounds like you buy the good games already, so the other games you can pick up cheaply in used game stores. Home brew? Whilst it's still relatively young, there haven't been any must-have home brew so far. Linux? You can just create an extra partition on your HDD and install it on your PC/laptop. If you think there's something you want to get out of owning a hacked console, and you are willing to spend money to get it, then go for it.

LittleRedRidingH

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Originality said:
If you're buying used, there's no real difference between the two models and how hackable they are, so long as they haven't been updated to 3.56 or above. Just keep in mind that some fat PS3s get PS2 comparability, and that fat PS3s are more prone to YLOD.