Buying 3rd Wave games.

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by Hermessz, Jun 3, 2009.

Jun 3, 2009

Buying 3rd Wave games. by Hermessz at 2:51 PM (1,387 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Hermessz
    OP

    Member Hermessz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    ISR
    Country:
    Israel
    Hi, I got iXtreme 1.5, no support for 3rd wave games, and for the meantime, while no 'important' games are on 3rd wave (except Halo ODST, but theres time i guess), i have no intention in updating, and also I'm a "IAFRAIDTODESTROYMYXBOX" fobia.
    Anyway, in 9.9.09 I wanna buy The Beatles : Rock band, which will probably be 100% 3rd wave. I have 2 options, either to buy for Xbox, and so I'll be able to download content (I can't at PS3), or either to PS3, but no download content.

    To make a long story short, will a 3rd wave ORIGINAL game work on ix1.5?
     
  2. BiscuitBee

    Member BiscuitBee Semi-Resident Cookie-Bug

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    689
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
  3. Da Foxx

    Member Da Foxx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    Canada
    You need to upgrade to 1.51 to play 3rd Wave games. Depending on your drive you can upgrade to 1.6 if its not Hitatchi. If you have Hitatchi it should only take few mins to upgrade it without a connection kit.
     
  4. Hermessz
    OP

    Member Hermessz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    ISR
    Country:
    Israel
    But wait, you say I need to upgrade, ppl say I don't need.
    All im talking now are about ORIGINAL GAMES ONLYYYYY, no COPIES, cuz im going to buy THE BEATLES ROCK BAND ANYWAY, SO JUST GIVE ME A STRAIGHT ANSWER.
    Yes or No?
     
  5. bubbleboy

    Member bubbleboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    United States
    YES
     
  6. Hermessz
    OP

    Member Hermessz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    ISR
    Country:
    Israel
    yes to "will a 3rd wave ORIGINAL game work on ix1.5?" or yes to "do I need to upgrade to 1.51?"?
     
  7. Da Mafia

    Member Da Mafia GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When you use an original game the ixtreme features are disabled and your drive works as standard. So an original Wave 3 game will play fine.
     
  8. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    Even though it works, I'd upgrade anyways. It takes less than 10 minutes, and it's really something you should stay on top of. Plus, the new dumping feature in 1.6 is really useful, and with the right setup you don't even need to open up your 360 to do it (I have a Blaster 360 installed, and I'm loving it). The choice is up to you, but I would still upgrade.
     
  9. Hermessz
    OP

    Member Hermessz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    ISR
    Country:
    Israel
    as i said, im a bit of technofob (i have no problems in opening my PC, but opening my 360 is pretty scary for me)
    And every guide I got was, how do I say it, I didn't understand what JungleFlasher is, what exactly I need to do, drive key, what else.
    Any simple explenation on "how do u flash ur xbox360" would be appreciate.
    Oh, and I'm still not sure if I have a BenQ or LiteOn, I need to check the wires. any help would be appriciate/

    edit: I opened my panel now cuz it looks pretty easy. Anyway, I followed some instructions I saw to identify LiteOn, something about wires that if they are yellow its a LiteOn and if white its a BenQ.
    I saw the wires, but they were pretty deep in, and I couldn't see the colour. It might been yellow, but how should I know. any way how to check the drive without opnening the whole box? and if no, should I stick a pencil or somethin in there to pull the wires a bit out?
     
  10. Da Foxx

    Member Da Foxx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    Canada
    There is nothing to worry about when you open up your Xbox. Open it up (find some YouTube videos) and look at the sticker on the drive. It should tell you what kind of drive you have. There is almost no chance of you breaking your Xbox if you open it up just to look at the drive and put it back together. Otherwise, I suggest you just stick to buying your games if you don't want to risk breaking your Xbox. Either way your warranty is already void since you have the older firmware.
     

Share This Page