busted my sd card after install armloader9 need help in restoring previous save games.

Discussion in '3DS - Homebrew Development and Emulators' started by ryukapple, Feb 14, 2017.

1. ryukapple
    OP

ryukapple Newbie

Newcomer
    Feb 13, 2017
    Netherlands
    Hello all, i'm pretty new to the armloader9 hack i followed on https://3ds.guide/

Yesterday my sd card got corrupted with all the files on it, luckily i followed the last steps on the tutorial here: https://3ds.guide/installing-arm9loaderhax, So i got fbi and freeshop, homebrew L working again.

Now i reinstalled the games and my savegames are gone, i've got a backup of the following files:
    NANDmin.bin and otp.bin by following the guide.

1. Is there a way of using these files to get the save games back on my 3ds? Or is it to risky?

2. Meliodas2255

Meliodas2255 common sense guy

Jan 4, 2017
    United States
    Of course the are gone. They're part of the games. However if you exported your saves using jk save manager. You can try using a recovery tool to attempt to recover them.

3. Tomy Sakazaki

Tomy Sakazaki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Oct 23, 2006
    Brazil
    Trying to explain it better than the previous user.
    The saves are created in your SD card, alongside the games installation and they are encrypted to work only on your console.
    The NAND backup will hold only the save for Mii Plaza games, the saves for other games isn't saved there.
    You could restore not only the games but also their saves if you had a copy of the Nintendo 3DS folder on your PC, if you had done this before the SD got corrupted, you can copy this folder back to another SD card, then restore the NANDmin.bin backup (with the option to keep a9lh) so the key used to encrypt the contents will match (if you actually didn't system format the console after you SD card was broke, restoring the backup of the NAND may be unnecessary).