Burned Wario World GCN PAL ISO...how to get to work on NTSC chipped Wi

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by just4747, Sep 23, 2008.

  1. just4747
    OP

    Newcomer just4747 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United States
    I have a PAL Multi-5 Wario World for GCN ISO and I burned it to DVD+R as I normally would. I have a new D2Pro9 that plays mostly everything I throw at it without a hitch: all region Wii backups, NTSC GCN backups, and all kinds of DVDR media. But this one will not launch. The Gamecube title screen shows in the disc channel but it goes to black when I try to launch the game. The thing is, the D2Pro9 is supposed to play all import and backup GC games so I don't know why this wouldn't work.

    Any suggestions? I can't find any Region-Freeing apps for GC ISOs (are there any?) and I tried launching the disc through Gamecube Boot and Gecko OS and but no luck, and haven't yet tried MenuLoader. Why is this so difficult to get to work? Also the game is a measly 262 MB which threw me at first but then I read that it is a short game and also it's GCN so it's gonna be smaller. I primarily want to be able to free the ISO's PAL region lock and re-burn it but if there is a way to even launch the PAL one, that's fine too. Any help would be appreciated!
     
  2. Zeek03

    Member Zeek03 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe a bad ISO or bad burn? Retry on another disk!
     
  3. just4747
    OP

    Newcomer just4747 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United States
    It was a 2-second extraction from the .zip file and the burn was quick..nothing really could've gone wrong so I'm fairly sure it's the compatibility. I don't know what to do really.
     
  4. shredman

    Member shredman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    down under
    Country:
    Australia
    if the game doesn't support pal60 the game may not work because the game will try and boot
    using an ntsc 50hertz signal - which most tv's do not support

    try the new 1.07a geckoOS and try using a particular video mode to boot it
    - you will probably need to try pal50 -

    i hope your tv supports pal50!
    (compatability using an ntsc wii to play PAL 50hz only games is not so good...
    let us know if geckoOS helps or not!)

    SHREDMAN
     
  5. just4747
    OP

    Newcomer just4747 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United States
    well since my tv properly displays PAL Wii backups then shouldn't this work?

    If not, how can I convert it to be NTSC or region-free? I only know how to do it to Wii games..
     
  6. shredman

    Member shredman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    down under
    Country:
    Australia
    the wii uses a GC mode to boot GC games not the WII mode

    an ntsc wii doesn't have a pal output (for GC games)
    it trys to load a PAL game using the right hz setting but the wrong
    video mode

    just to be clear GC and WII games are very different
    particularly in how they boot...

    as an interesting sidepoint - the pal wii has no problems loading ntsc
    games (GC mode)

    GeckoOS may work because you can select the right video mode..
    apparently now for GC games as well as WII games

    SHREDMAN
     
  7. just4747
    OP

    Newcomer just4747 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United States
    hmm interesting, well in that case, just to repeat my last question...
     
  8. shredman

    Member shredman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    down under
    Country:
    Australia
    there is no way to change the region on GC games and even if you did

    the game will probably still boot with the wrong video mode
    you will need to be able to boot a 50hz video mode if the
    game does not support pal60

    if it does support pal60 then i have no idea on how to make
    it display properly

    (try turning up the sound - even if you have no picture you should
    be getting some sound...that means its the wrong videomode)

    SHREDMAN
     
  9. just4747
    OP

    Newcomer just4747 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United States
    yeah i thought about the video being unviewable but audio still working but there is no audio which leads me to believe that maybe it's not the video mode that's the problem. If we can change regions of Wii games, why not older GC games? Are you sure it can't be done to properly display on a Wii? Not doubting you, just thinking that there must be SOME way to play a Pal GC game with a modchip that says it will play imports and an NTSC tv...but if you really can't, that sucks lol
     
  10. shredman

    Member shredman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    down under
    Country:
    Australia
    some games simply wont even boot without the correct video mode

    GC games cant be region free'd in the way that you want it to..

    SHREDMAN
     
  11. berlinka

    Member berlinka You have sustained a lethal injury.

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,147
    Location:
    Harderwijk, Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I have a Wiikey and I noticed that several GC games won't work if I burn them directly on a disc. But when I put a couple of games together with the GCM Utility it works fine. So you might want to try that nice little app.
     
  12. just4747
    OP

    Newcomer just4747 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United States
    No luck with anything..so basically we should not download/backup import GC games because they will not play on our NTSC Wiis assuming we have NTSC TVs?
    So I guess when the D2CPro site says the chip will play import GC games, they only mean if you have the correct TV-type to view it? Is it the TV itself that is different from country to country or some other related TV component?
     
  13. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden

Share This Page