Buggered Wii - were to send for repair?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Col70, Sep 25, 2009.

Sep 25, 2009
  1. Col70
    OP

    Member Col70 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok I have a Wii that is well and truely buggered. When the unit is switched on I just get black screen.

    What I did to bugger it:
    When installing a nand backup using BootMii, we had a power-out in the house. When I switched the Wii on - hey presto nothing, zip, zilch, nada!

    What I've tried:
    The 'Y' on the GC controller method
    The crack your' GC controller open

    What I have/had:
    3.2e, preloader, Bootmii2 as ios, rev14

    Ok so the advice I've had so far is that there isn't anything that I can do personally. I don't really want to send it to Ninty (for obvious reasons) even though it still has 1 month to run on the warranty. If indead I have a completely screwed and buggered unit, other than an expensive book-end, does anyone know of a company/person in the UK who can fix these kind of things?

    Thanks for sticking with me when reading this lot!
     
  2. CasperH

    CasperH Newbie

    Did you try to start Preloader?
    If that doesn't work, then don't worry as they probably can't find anything [​IMG]
     
  3. Col70
    OP

    Member Col70 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    anyone know for sure if this is something that can be fixed and if so who can do it?
     
  4. aabbccdd

    Member aabbccdd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Finland
    Bootmii as IOS and nand restore = failure. If you get a power cut during the operation, your Wii is fully bricked and there's NOTHING you can do. Bootmii as boot2 doesn't have this problem, but I'm 99% the readme for Bootmii says that's it's really not recommended to do the nand restore when bootmii is installed as IOS. Sorry, but you have to send it to Nintendo or throw it away.
     
  5. mattjd

    Member mattjd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Malvern
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just send by warranty just say I was updating and I had a power failure. Works everytime.
     
  6. wiiman123

    Member wiiman123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    938
    Country:
    New Zealand
    http://www.vgcrepairs.biz/zen_store/

    Heres a great place to get your Wii repaired or purchase replacement parts. Enter code "webrewwii" to get $5 off purchases above $20.

    Hope that helps.
     
  7. wiiman123

    Member wiiman123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    938
    Country:
    New Zealand
    dupe post .. my bad
     
  8. Col70
    OP

    Member Col70 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks dude but i'm in the uk :-(
     
  9. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    nintendo
     
  10. lll

    Member lll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The options are either send it back to Nintendo, who will replace it, or go through the process of desoldering the NAND chip, obtaining and modifying a NAND dump from another Wii with the same version of boot2, obtaining a flash programmer and installing it on the chip, and then resoldering it back to the board.

    Not even console repair shops do the latter and if they did, the amount of labour involved would make it cheaper to just replace the console and salvage the DVD drive and Wi-Fi board for parts.

    Telling Nintendo that "the power went out while I was updating" is probably your only real option.
     
  11. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    Nah, you can restore your NAND using BootMii as IOS, you will need a Gamecube controller to do so.

    This isnt as worse as send it to Nintendo because come on, how high is the chance to have a power out during the restore... just dont do the restore during a thunderstorm...

    I did 3 restores on Wiis with BootMii as IOS and all went smooth and easy.

    Before sending it to Nintendo you should try to restore the NAND yourself.
     
  12. aabbccdd

    Member aabbccdd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Finland
    Learn to read. I didn't say you CAN'T restore your nand when it's installed as IOS, I said it's NOT RECOMMENDED to restore it, and here's a good example.
     
  13. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    I can read and I am just stating that it is better than sending it to Nintendo first place, I know that it is not possible in this case.
     
  14. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    dude your ironically lucky you have 1 month of warranty left.
    use it to your advantage obviously.
    call and say the power went out when you were updating.
    if you cant see anything on your fully bricked wii, they wont be able to either.
    i mean come on, theyre not going to start a fat investigation on your wii.
    they have hundreds flowing in daily.
     

Share This Page