Bug in Waninkoko's Firmware Downgrader 1.0

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by piratesmack, May 1, 2009.

May 1, 2009
  1. piratesmack
    OP

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States
    I think I have found a bug in Waninkoko's Firmware Downgrader 1.0

    Well I used it to update a 3.2U Wii to 4.0U.
    And after 4.0U finished installing, it asked me something like "Change console area? Not doing this will result in a semi-brick"

    I thought it was weird that it asked me that, since the Wii was already set to US. So I pressed B to skip

    And good thing I did, because I took a look at the source code and found this in menu.c:
    Code:
    { "4.0U", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 417, 0x10000003cULL, 6174, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
    If I would have pressed A:
    Code:
    case FW_REGION_JAP: {
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂareaÂÂÂÂ= CONF_AREA_JPN;
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂgameÂÂÂÂ= CONF_REGION_JP;
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂvideoÂÂ = CONF_VIDEO_NTSC;
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂregname = "JAP";
    
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂbreak;

    Wouldn't that have semi-bricked my Wii?

    Another thing I noticed, it didn't download and install IOS60 (but that might just be because I already had it installed)
     
  2. Wack0

    Member Wack0 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    { "3.4J", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 384, 0x10000001eULL, 2816, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
    { "3.4U", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 385, 0x10000001eULL, 2816, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
    { "3.4E", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 386, 0x10000001eULL, 2816, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
    { "4.0J", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 416, 0x10000003cULL, 6174, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
    { "4.0U", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 417, 0x10000003cULL, 6174, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
    { "4.0E", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 418, 0x10000003cULL, 6174, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },

    um, what ?
    I was talking to waninkoko last night, i should have seen this as i was actually looking at this src aswell !!
     
  3. piratesmack
    OP

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States
    Uh oh!

    I didn't notice all the other ones
     
  4. piratesmack
    OP

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States
  5. Vidboy10

    Member Vidboy10 Tsardom

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,617
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C
    Country:
    Canada
    I did this once but i just reinstalled my correct region again
     
  6. pcfree

    Newcomer pcfree Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    Taiwan
    Another strange part I don't understand. SysMenu3.4 officially runs on IOS50v4889, but the table loads IOS30v2816. Is it means I have to make sure I already have IOS50 inside if I upgrade from 3.2 to 3.4? And what's the purpoe to install IOS30v2816?
     
  7. piratesmack
    OP

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States
    That is strange.
    Maybe Wanin made another mistake?

    As I said in the original post, I noticed that the downgrader didn't install IOS60 when updating to 4.0U.
    It only installed System Menu v417, BC v5, and MIOS v9. (Good thing I installed IOS60 before.)
     
  8. waninkoko

    Member waninkoko GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    300
    Location:
    Salamanca, Spain
    Country:
    Spain
    3.4 runs on IOS50? Mmmm. then I made some mistake when checking that.

    Firmware Downgrader won't install IOS60 if it's already installed.
     
  9. piratesmack
    OP

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, Waninkoko
     
  10. pcfree

    Newcomer pcfree Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    Taiwan
    Thanks!

    Also notice the source code loads IOS30v1039 for SM3.2, but it seems official 3.2 comes with IOS30v1040.
     
  11. piratesmack
    OP

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States
    According to noobwarrior7, IOS30 v1039 is preferred over v1040
     
  12. BigBangAttack

    Newcomer BigBangAttack Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Canada

Share This Page