Hacking Bug in Waninkoko's Firmware Downgrader 1.0

piratesmack

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
787
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
$(pwd)
XP
148
Country
United States
I think I have found a bug in Waninkoko's Firmware Downgrader 1.0

Well I used it to update a 3.2U Wii to 4.0U.
And after 4.0U finished installing, it asked me something like "Change console area? Not doing this will result in a semi-brick"

I thought it was weird that it asked me that, since the Wii was already set to US. So I pressed B to skip

And good thing I did, because I took a look at the source code and found this in menu.c:
Code:
{ "4.0U", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 417, 0x10000003cULL, 6174, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },

If I would have pressed A:
Code:
case FW_REGION_JAP: {
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂareaÂÂÂÂ= CONF_AREA_JPN;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂgameÂÂÂÂ= CONF_REGION_JP;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂvideoÂÂ = CONF_VIDEO_NTSC;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂregname = "JAP";

ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂbreak;


Wouldn't that have semi-bricked my Wii?

Another thing I noticed, it didn't download and install IOS60 (but that might just be because I already had it installed)
 

Wack0

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2009
Messages
129
Trophies
0
XP
196
Country
{ "3.4J", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 384, 0x10000001eULL, 2816, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
{ "3.4U", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 385, 0x10000001eULL, 2816, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
{ "3.4E", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 386, 0x10000001eULL, 2816, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
{ "4.0J", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 416, 0x10000003cULL, 6174, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
{ "4.0U", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 417, 0x10000003cULL, 6174, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
{ "4.0E", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 418, 0x10000003cULL, 6174, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },

um, what ?
I was talking to waninkoko last night, i should have seen this as i was actually looking at this src aswell !!
 

piratesmack

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
787
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
$(pwd)
XP
148
Country
United States
Wack0 said:
{ "3.4J", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 384, 0x10000001eULL, 2816, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
{ "3.4U", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 385, 0x10000001eULL, 2816, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
{ "3.4E", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 386, 0x10000001eULL, 2816, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
{ "4.0J", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 416, 0x10000003cULL, 6174, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
{ "4.0U", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 417, 0x10000003cULL, 6174, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
{ "4.0E", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 418, 0x10000003cULL, 6174, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },

um, what ?
I was talking to waninkoko last night, i should have seen this as i was actually looking at this src aswell !!

Uh oh!

I didn't notice all the other ones
 

pcfree

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
59
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
15
Country
Taiwan
piratesmack said:
Wack0 said:
{ "3.4J", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 384, 0x10000001eULL, 2816, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
{ "3.4U", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 385, 0x10000001eULL, 2816, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
{ "3.4E", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 386, 0x10000001eULL, 2816, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
{ "4.0J", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 416, 0x10000003cULL, 6174, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
{ "4.0U", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 417, 0x10000003cULL, 6174, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
{ "4.0E", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 418, 0x10000003cULL, 6174, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },

um, what ?
I was talking to waninkoko last night, i should have seen this as i was actually looking at this src aswell !!

Uh oh!

I didn't notice all the other ones
Another strange part I don't understand. SysMenu3.4 officially runs on IOS50v4889, but the table loads IOS30v2816. Is it means I have to make sure I already have IOS50 inside if I upgrade from 3.2 to 3.4? And what's the purpoe to install IOS30v2816?
 

piratesmack

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
787
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
$(pwd)
XP
148
Country
United States
pcfree said:
piratesmack said:
Wack0 said:
{ "3.4J", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 384, 0x10000001eULL, 2816, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
{ "3.4U", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 385, 0x10000001eULL, 2816, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
{ "3.4E", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 386, 0x10000001eULL, 2816, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
{ "4.0J", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 416, 0x10000003cULL, 6174, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
{ "4.0U", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 417, 0x10000003cULL, 6174, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },
{ "4.0E", FW_REGION_JAP, 0x100000002ULL, 418, 0x10000003cULL, 6174, 0x100000101ULL, 9, 0x100000100ULL, 5 },

um, what ?
I was talking to waninkoko last night, i should have seen this as i was actually looking at this src aswell !!

Uh oh!

I didn't notice all the other ones
Another strange part I don't understand. SysMenu3.4 officially runs on IOS50v4889, but the table loads IOS30v2816. Is it means I have to make sure I already have IOS50 inside if I upgrade from 3.2 to 3.4? And what's the purpoe to install IOS30v2816?

That is strange.
Maybe Wanin made another mistake?

As I said in the original post, I noticed that the downgrader didn't install IOS60 when updating to 4.0U.
It only installed System Menu v417, BC v5, and MIOS v9. (Good thing I installed IOS60 before.)
 

pcfree

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
59
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
15
Country
Taiwan
waninkoko said:
3.4 runs on IOS50? Mmmm. then I made some mistake when checking that.

Firmware Downgrader won't install IOS60 if it's already installed.
Thanks!

Also notice the source code loads IOS30v1039 for SM3.2, but it seems official 3.2 comes with IOS30v1040.
 

piratesmack

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
787
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
$(pwd)
XP
148
Country
United States
pcfree said:
waninkoko said:
3.4 runs on IOS50? Mmmm. then I made some mistake when checking that.

Firmware Downgrader won't install IOS60 if it's already installed.
Thanks!

Also notice the source code loads IOS30v1039 for SM3.2, but it seems official 3.2 comes with IOS30v1040.

According to noobwarrior7, IOS30 v1039 is preferred over v1040
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    cearp @ cearp: Welcome hazbeans