Browserhax not working after 5 days of frustration, need help.

Discussion in '3DS - Homebrew Development and Emulators' started by Zerofuse, Jan 21, 2016.

  1. Zerofuse
    OP

    Zerofuse Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jan 21, 2016
    So I downgraded my O3DS from 10.3 to 9.2 using sysUpdater, and had no problems. However when trying to get homebrew working again through browserhax on 9.2 I've had no success at all. I've had the following problems for the past 5 days:
    • Every time I launch browserhax (via auto detection) I get a yellow screen, followed by a gray screen, after this the browser crashes and says to save all progress on apps and restart the DS. Before you suggest it, yes I have deleted cookies and initialized save data countless times on the browser. I have also accessed it most of the time through the QR code and using the turn off internet, launch browser, close browser, turn on internet method. Have also tried bookmarking it to no avail.
    • However, if I try manually using the sliderhax link rather than the auto detection, the page would load fine, however when I'd tap the slider, nothing happens. Like, actually NOTHING. Nada. I think this might be the main problem but I have no idea.

    Here is a list (sorry) of everything I have tried so far:
    • Rebooting DS and constantly trying to launch through auto method.
    • Formatting SD card and installing smea's starter pack.
    • Deleting Cookies, History and Initializing Save Data (as stated above).
    • Downloading a ropbin for 9.2 and renaming it.
    • Formatting DS.
    • I have deleted the file that browserhax creates whenever it tries to launch, still doesn't work.

    I have no CFW or Gateway at all. The DS is 100% clean (I think). All I want is to access homebrew through browserhax ONCE so I can be done with it and install menuhax.

    I have looked up threads relating to this topic, but so far none of the solutions posted have worked. After 5 days of constantly rebooting the DS and injecting and ejecting SD cards I'm about to snap.

    So again, any help would be appreciated to help little ol' me. Thanks in advance if you actually read through all this.

    EDIT: Created account for this, since I had no luck with r/3dshacks.
     
  2. Eskuero

    Eskuero Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    97
    78
    Mar 20, 2015
    United States
  3. Ericthegreat

    Ericthegreat Not New Member

    Member
    1,816
    324
    Nov 8, 2008
    United States
    Vana'diel
    Try (back up first) erasing everything on your SD card then start fresh. With only the nessessary files.
     
  4. Bull Moose 2016

    Bull Moose 2016 Member

    Newcomer
    47
    47
    Nov 12, 2015
    United States
  5. Zerofuse
    OP

    Zerofuse Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jan 21, 2016
    That's what I've been trying out, but it doesn't load me into the sliderhax page, it just acts like spiderhax I believe.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Gonna try that out a couple more times, the yellow screen does stay longer from time to time, so I'll mess around with it.
     
  6. Townsperson

    Townsperson GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    398
    272
    Dec 7, 2015
    United States
    Did you delete the webkithax file from your SD card after downgrade? And for sliderhax, you need to tap basically the right edge of the slider for it to work.
     
  7. Zerofuse
    OP

    Zerofuse Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jan 21, 2016
    Yeah, I did. Problem is that the auto detector doesn't even take me to the sliderhax page. Gonna try manually inputing the sliderhax page, and seeing if it works.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Same result happens as stated in the original post with sliderhax, I get literally NO reaction from the page at all. I let it load completely, zoom all the way in, and tap the far right of the slider. Nothing happens. The slider would highlight for a couple of seconds, and that's it. I'm pretty sure this is the cause of the damn problem but I'm not sure.
     
  8. squishyscrump

    squishyscrump GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    161
    19
    Sep 19, 2015
  9. Leo2nardo

    Leo2nardo GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    107
    14
    Sep 9, 2015
    United States
    G
    Guys stop posting I got the result

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    This is the solution. Enjoy. Look at this thread made by me a few weeks ago. Reply back if it worked for you. Here is the link:
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/browserhax-9-2-fix-o3ds.408141/
     
  10. Zerofuse
    OP

    Zerofuse Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jan 21, 2016
    Did not work, still getting the same result even after pressing A at the same time or rapidly spamming it after I press the slider on the far right side.
     
  11. Leo2nardo

    Leo2nardo GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    107
    14
    Sep 9, 2015
    United States
    Really?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    If I'm not mistaken, I believe I heard something in smeas website saying something is wrong with browserhax. Give it a look.
     
  12. Zerofuse
    OP

    Zerofuse Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jan 21, 2016
    I believe that was fixed for most people, no?
     
  13. mitroux

    mitroux GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    263
    51
    Sep 12, 2007
    Macau
    did you try to run gateway luncher?(the go gateway link) if yes backup your nand and downgrade to 4.5 ; then either use an r4 card and mset or upgrade again to 9.2
    hope this helps
     
  14. Viri

    Viri GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,236
    1,124
    Sep 13, 2009
    United States
    I downgraded 3 3DSes, and I had quite a few lovely times dealing with browser hax. Sometimes it'd work the first time, sometimes it'd take nearly 30 minutes. I'd personally rather deal with the downgrader again, than deal with browserhax.
     
  15. Pikasack

    Pikasack What is a title

    Member
    635
    203
    Apr 27, 2015
    Canada
    Really, if you're on 9.2, follow an RxTools guide and then make sure you do FBI/BigBlueMenu injection and just use yellows8's Homebrew Launcher cia.

    And then after that, just let go of RxTools and who cares about the H&S app anyway.
    This is considering if you only wanted Menuhax, trust me, you will have a lot more success with this than with browserhax.
    Also just uninstall the CIA once your done as well.
     
    Last edited by Pikasack, Jan 21, 2016
  16. pre10c

    pre10c GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    309
    43
    Jan 15, 2016
    Belgium
    the far left side works too, if i used rigfht it used to crash for me but when i press the far left side of the slider it worked
     
  17. Zerofuse
    OP

    Zerofuse Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jan 21, 2016
    That's what I was thinking of doing, since all I want is just access to menuhax anyways. I'll try it out later today.