Broken R4i gold (www.r4igold.cn)

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Chris610, Sep 25, 2011.

Sep 25, 2011
  1. Chris610
    OP

    Newcomer Chris610 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Bolivia
    Hi, well my R4i gold i think is broken after trying to upgrade it to work on a DSI 1.4.3 i used the upgrade from the official web page (www.r4igold.cn) illto143.nds on a dslite it stuck at 42% after 2 hours waiting i turned off and now when i use the card no icon is displayed (before was some star wars icon) and if i get in the screens get white and do anything please if anybody knows a fix to this problem i'll thank you a lot.

    Thanks for read this
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    What's the site printed on the cart?
     
  3. Chris610
    OP

    Newcomer Chris610 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Bolivia
    that www.r4igold.cn thanks for trying to help [​IMG]
     
  4. insidexdeath

    Member insidexdeath .

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,045
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You bricked it.
     
  5. Chris610
    OP

    Newcomer Chris610 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Bolivia
    So.. is nothing i can do about it??
     
  6. s4mid4re

    Member s4mid4re  

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,669
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think so. You could try flashing the update again, but you can't get your flashcart to load, so you won't be able to reflash.

    Just buy a better cart like acekard 2i, r4i Gold (from here and not the one you have) or perhaps the SuperCard DSTwo if you have some money.
     
  7. Chris610
    OP

    Newcomer Chris610 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Bolivia
    well i guess that would be the smartest and less frustrating thing to do thnks for the tip
     
  8. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    I've never touched an R4i Gold in my life, but you can't do with it what you can do with some other flash carts? Load the flasher program on a different cart, then before you start the flashing procedure eject the first one and put the bricked cart in?

    Yes, I realize this requires two carts, which you sound like you don't have.
     
  9. Chris610
    OP

    Newcomer Chris610 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Bolivia
    I guess i can borrow one from my friends and i kinda realized about what you say i will try that, but anybody knows a ds file to do that 'cause i don't know if it'll work with the one a did it before i mean the "ill143.nds" from the official webpage
     
  10. emmanu888

    Member emmanu888 6 years and still going strong

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    Victoriaville,Québec
    Country:
    Canada
    i think it will work with another card you have to press a before flashing the new frimware so i guess it could be ok
     
  11. Chris610
    OP

    Newcomer Chris610 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Bolivia
    I found the same problem with the r4 from www.r4ids.cn do you think it might work?
     
  12. s4mid4re

    Member s4mid4re  

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,669
    Country:
    United States
    The updater from r4ids.cn is different from the one from r4igold.cn (the one you have), so it won't work.
     
  13. Chris610
    OP

    Newcomer Chris610 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Bolivia
    In that case i guess i will just try to re-upgrade it like plasma dragon said it
     
  14. ferofax

    Member ferofax End of the World

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,564
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    this bricked your r4? because it did mine, granted mine's a green R4i (www.ndsill.net), got the same file off this site. all it did was reach around 80% and then looped back to zero. now i'm trying to reflash it using a Supercard Mini (slot2) and an iEDGE as a passme (iEDGE wouldn't load the damn file, good thing i had a supercard and a dsphat).

    i'm just crossing my fingers it goes right this time. X(
     
  15. Chris610
    OP

    Newcomer Chris610 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Bolivia
    I hope it worked for you i didn't do it yet so let me know how it results for you XD
     
  16. Sloshy

    Member Sloshy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    155
    Location:
    Strong Badia
    Country:
    United States
    Reflashing it with a different cart is definitely the best idea, if you have another cart that is. I bricked my R4i Gold 3DS on my first upgrade because my DS Lite ran out of power, but I used a CycloDS to load the program for flashing the cart and it worked like a charm once I plugged it into a charger. Just make sure you're using the right flasher ;)
     
  17. tranfeer

    Member tranfeer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    Country:
    Austria
    Only r4i gold (r4ids.cn) and r4idsn (r4idsn.com) can be repaired this way.
     
  18. s4mid4re

    Member s4mid4re  

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,669
    Country:
    United States
    acekard 2i and SuperCard DSTwo can also unbrick by swapping carts.
     
  19. cheapr4i
    This message by cheapr4i has been removed from public view by raulpica, Mar 27, 2013.
    Oct 23, 2011

Share This Page