1. darkangel5000

    OP darkangel5000 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah, uhm. Last week i've picked a DS Fat for 30€ up, and the problem was that it was UGLY (!) painted and had a broken hinge, but besides that it worked flawlessy.

    Whatever, because the shell annoyed me horribly, I've just changed it with one i got from DX. But since the DS is in its new shell it won't turn on anymore.
    Sometimes the red Power-LED was flashing up, (just like the upper screen) and you heard, everytime it was flashing, a terrible cracking sound from the speakers.
    But now you'll just see the green LED flashing up, and the DS turns off.

    I've checked the ribbon cables (I think, more than 50 times.) and tried to put the DS back into its old shell. But it still wasn't working so I measured the Fuses and found out, that both of em were blown. After finding that out, I've desoldered the two fuses and bridged the points with solder.
    But it just won't turn on, the green LED is flashing up and the DS Shut down, just like before [​IMG]

    Besides all those problems, it charges my battery fine. Also tried to turn the DS on with the power cable plugged in. Still no other result than before.


    So... anyone here knows how to handle with it? I've been playing with the thought to buy another broken DS (broken screens or something liek that) but that would blow my budget for the next few months... so it would be nice if someone have some ideas to might get it working again...

    Thanks in advance
    ~Dark
     
  2. jordanlp

    jordanlp GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    152
    Country:
    United States
    I gots a ds phat but gonna get a black lite
     
  3. krazykirk

    krazykirk GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Country:
    The best way to fix it would to buy a nice shiny new DS Lite! [​IMG]

    But seriously, maybe you should make sure that the replacement case isn't bridging any points? If you take it apart and try to turn it on without a case, does it turn on?

    I'm thinking of getting into the whole "Buy a crap ds and make it awesome by putting a replacement case on it thing" but it seems a bit difficult.. and I'm broke for the time being anyway XD

    Good luck!
     
  4. darkangel5000

    OP darkangel5000 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    Germany
    So, uh, Thanks for your replay, I wanted to answer more quickly, but my pc restarted out of nothing and then I forgot it ._.

    lets answer :q
    - The case isn't really bridging anything. Firstly I thought, that a case made of plastic couldn't really bridge anything, but after a while I remembered that the DS has at least 1 or 2 metallic parts, so I've insulated 'em with tape. Still no other response from my DS as the turn on and immediately turn off thingsy =/
    - But to be sure I has laid the electronic parts down on my coffeetable (?) and connected everything. As you could imagine, nothing new or exciting happened [​IMG]

    But again, thanks for your reply [​IMG]
     
  5. Zankurou

    Zankurou GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United States
    Same thing happened with me. I just put on a new case on my DS Phat but it'll flicker on and go back off.
    I can't tell if any fuses are blown though. How do you check?
     
  6. darkangel5000

    OP darkangel5000 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    Germany
    Hum, bad thing, eh? ._.

    You can measure the fuses with a multimeter. Theres one Option, that when it says 1 or something like that, while measuring, it should mean, that the fuse is blown. Any hex-digit-number like 0,566 means that the Fuse is still active.

    And just btw: The blown fuse is most likely the F2-fuse. :3
     
  7. Zankurou

    Zankurou GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United States
    Well I don't think I have a multimeter on hand. [​IMG]
    Any other way to check?
     
  8. Zankurou

    Zankurou GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United States
    Well I found a multimeter around my house.
    Though I don't know which setting to use to check. D:
     
  9. krazykirk

    krazykirk GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Country:
    I think you just need to use the 'continuity' setting to see if electric current can pass through the two points or not.
     
  10. arctic_flame

    arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Country:
    You can use the resistance setting. low resistance = fuse ok, open circuit = fuse blown.
     
  11. jalaneme

    jalaneme Female Gamer
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,252
    Country:
    i think your ds phat is doing you a favor, in a way it's committing suicide and saying "reincarnate me into a ds lite!" lol
     
  12. darkangel5000

    OP darkangel5000 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    Germany
    The "problem" is: I already have a DS Lite .__.

    sry for being ot :q
     
  13. xcalibur

    xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Country:
    You haven't been specific on what happens when the DS turns on and then off.
    Does the bottom screen flash? Does the top screen flash? Do they both flash? Does nothing happen except for a green LED?

    The ribbon cable itself could be broken.
     
  14. darkangel5000

    OP darkangel5000 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    Germany
    Aw xD
    Wait a minute, one of em flashes up fo sure, but i don't know no more which :q

    E: Okay, the bottom screen flashes up, when I'm turning it on.
     
  15. darkangel5000

    OP darkangel5000 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    Germany
    Okay, after "playing" a bit more with that piece of.... crap, I ended up with this:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1wdMr5YrFXU
    (dont know if you can see it on the video: The Top-Screen seems to be trying to turn on too, but without background lighting)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Broken,