Broadband speed!

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by kristianity77, Aug 15, 2007.

Aug 15, 2007

Broadband speed! by kristianity77 at 7:20 PM (1,023 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. kristianity77
    OP

    Member kristianity77 GBATemp old fogey

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,380
    Location:
    Bewdley, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ive just come out of a lengthy discussion with my broadband provider (Tiscali to those of you in the UK)

    Im on an 8 meg connection, getting only 5 which im fine with (distance from exchange thing). If i download something, sure enough, most of the time ill hit the speed i should be. But going from webpage to webpage is taking absolutely ages!

    For example, i go to google, type gbatemp, click on the link for here. It will sit on connecting for maybe 10 seconds, then it will sloooowly load up the GBATEMP homepage. from clicking the google link to having a fully loaded front page is taking perhaps 30-40 seconds. I know i could wait that time, but how can I be downloading at full speed but have such shit web access from site to site? This is the same for near enough every single site i go to

    My broadband provider is telling me its basically not there problem, but is it? I know its not my PC/ firewall etc. So what else can it be?
     
  2. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Well... GBAtemp itself is pretty damn slow. Also it depends a lot on your upload speed, so if you have torrents running or someone is playing a game, your performance will be hit.
     
  3. Harsky

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, for me GBAtemp also loads slow as well.
     
  4. phoood

    Member phoood taking it to a whole new level.

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001
    Location:
    Jewgoslavia
    Country:
    United States
    It could also be the website you're visiting or something on your end. Sometimes I boot in safemode with networking enabled to make sure it's not any apps thats causing slowdowns.

    Most likely it's the website's problem.
     
  5. Rapid Dr3am

    Newcomer Rapid Dr3am Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Aledgedly I'm up my own arse
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    GBATemp loads slow for me sat in the ISP office.
     
  6. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'll bet you any money your connection is only slow between 5pm and 11pm. Even though Tiscali advertise that they have no limits if you go over something like 10 or 20 gig then they cap your connection, which basically means that during peak hours you get less than dial-up speeds. The only way to get rid of the cap is to download less than a gig a month for 3 months, although the minute you go over that 10 or 20 gig again you get capped.

    It's one of the reasons we changed from Tiscali to AOL.
     
  7. BakuFunn

    Member BakuFunn Flameproof.

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    im having the problem too, but SOMEONE is downloding on emule...
    so ill just have to wait for their download to finish.
    I download
     
  8. corbs132

    Member corbs132 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Country:
    United States
    Firefox, the hacker's webbrowser.
    get fasterfox and adblock plus etc, mine loads in exactly 2.830s, shows a counter on bottom.
     
  9. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Why you dont just close the link rigth before they are finished [​IMG]
     
  10. roguefan99

    Member roguefan99 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    Australia
    Actually if you wish to get GBAtemp to load really quickly turn the images off! I do that when I'm in a lot of forums (turn them on in a couple of posts like Hadrians release ones) because of the avatar/sigs (BTW guys they look awesome) usually take most of the loading time when you are on slower connections.

    I do find the homepage does seem to load a bit slower than the forum pages, dunno why that is but I'm guessing it might be my PC and Javascript.
     
  11. JacobReaper

    Member JacobReaper I Love You....

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Spoomo
    Country:
    United States

    people really keep on beating me on posts today [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  12. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    Could be the internet browser.
     

Share This Page