broadband dongle in asus701sd wim7 ultimate issues

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by mrpinkeye, Aug 25, 2011.

  1. mrpinkeye
    OP

    Member mrpinkeye GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    713
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi guys

    im having trouble using a three mobile broadband dongle in my asus701sd netbook

    iv tryed two dongles (zte and e1550) and neither work, they both fail to install drivers

    the asus is a 701sd 8gbsd 512ram windows 7 ultimate

    any thoughts?
     
  2. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    Find out exactly what model you have of 'dongle' and then
    find somewhere where you can access internet to manually
    download drivers. If possible.
     
  3. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,179
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    since the dongles most likely came with driver CD's, they are useless on netbooks
    not allowing you to obtain drivers since you have no internet access

    I would do what kevan said, obtain drivers from the makers website (from a different computer), and put them on a flash drive and install from there
     
  4. mrpinkeye
    OP

    Member mrpinkeye GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    713
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    neither dongles came with CD's, all the data should be on them

    one is a huawei e1550 dongle (i did say that in op)

    im struggling to find the drivers that work. iv found a few things but they involve changing the "data card" and need the dongle plugged in, surly i shouldnt need the dongle to be effected to change the netbooks drivers right?
     
  5. Ringo619

    Member Ringo619 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    United States
    wait can't you explore the dongle? like browser through its files?? my dongle would't manually install so i had to browser the files in it and install it might be different in your case
     
  6. mrpinkeye
    OP

    Member mrpinkeye GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    713
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it goes into "autoplay" every time and is read as a cd drive (which is weird, on othe computers this happens the first time only, after that when i plug it in it loads the software but this wants to install everytime)

    it then installs fine, the software installs and launches. then it starts to install the drivers and fails

    device manager shows a yellow "!" next to it.

    its driving me mad, iv tryed 4 different downloads and none have helped
     

Share This Page