Brightness Change FW

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by Saylient_Dreams, Aug 28, 2007.

Aug 28, 2007

Brightness Change FW by Saylient_Dreams at 1:53 AM (1,802 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Saylient_Dreams
    OP

    Member Saylient_Dreams GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Country:
    United States
    I'm wonder if I can use the flashme that allows a user to change the brightness of their original DS. I've seen a youtube video of this in action. I have an original DS with flashme v7 on it, and it just turns the brightness on and off. Before flashing it with v7, it was an original launch US DS. Thanks
     
  2. leetdude_007

    Member leetdude_007 Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Country:
    United States
    uh, my guess is that it would not work because the brightness levels can only be done with the hardware of NDSL. that wasn't available in DS phat, it only had backlight on and off. NDSL is assumed to always have backlight. You can see that in old games with an NDSL!
     
  3. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States
    You can only do that in the later DS Phats, the ones that were made a couple of months before the Lite came out. They use similar parts as the Lite
     
  4. leetdude_007

    Member leetdude_007 Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Country:
    United States
    See, I didn't know that. Firmware check? Could that be used to confirm?
     
  5. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States
  6. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    http://dslinux.org/wiki/Pictochat_Test could also help. And yes, you need at least v5 or higher to gain brightness controls on a DS Phat. If you run the FlashMe program again (without actually installing it), it will tell you what your original firmware was.
     
  7. CannonBallZ

    Member CannonBallZ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    243
    Country:
    United States
    how does the brightness affect the battery on the phat ?
     
  8. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States
    Poorly
     
  9. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States

    Lowering the brightness on the DS phat would generally only result in making it more difficult to play. The brightest level on the phat is only about the same as the lowest brightness on the lite.

    In other words, if you are thinking that adding the varying brightness levels to the phat to make it brighter, forget it. That ain't gonna happen. You will just have 3 brightnesses lower than the not-quite-bright-enough light that the phat has by default.
     
  10. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States

    .....Do you know what we are talking about?
    http://youtube.com/watch?v=l_so_3rFfSU
     
  11. CannonBallZ

    Member CannonBallZ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    243
    Country:
    United States

    Poorly as in battery dies before [​IMG] one does ?

    or poorly as in it doesnt affect it at all ?
     
  12. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Poorly in that it will not last very long on the brighter settings. I think someone clocked it at 2 hours on the brightest setting.
     
  13. Saylient_Dreams
    OP

    Member Saylient_Dreams GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Country:
    United States
    Figured my DS was too old for it booooo. Oh well thanks for the info. I was planning on just using it plugged in all the time so I wasn't worrying about battery life.
     

Share This Page