Bricked?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by RomMon, Feb 28, 2010.

Feb 28, 2010

Bricked? by RomMon at 12:30 PM (778 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. RomMon
    OP

    Newcomer RomMon Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Netherlands
    During uninstalling BootMii my Wii is stuck at the following state:

    http://img26.imageshack.us/img26/6804/dsc04640v.jpg

    From this info I understand that both boot2 NAND blocks are erased, but nothing is installed.
    I haven't tried to reboot the Wii yet, only tried the home button on the remote, which didn't do a thing.

    Is my Wii bricked?
    What options do I have to proceed from here?
     
  2. ecw

    Member ecw GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Country:
    United States
    Why would you uninstall BootMii? You should be OK. Just reboot your Wii. [​IMG]
     
  3. RomMon
    OP

    Newcomer RomMon Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Ecw,

    Thanks for your reply. Yes you are correct.
    After an hour waiting I finaly got the nerve to reboot the Wii and indeed it works normal again, without BootMii.

    First step will be to re-install BootMii as boot2 and make another NAND backup.

    Damn...I was sweatting all over for about an hour....and was already looking at the use of an Infectus Modchip (also interesting).
     
  4. Daco

    Banned Daco Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    Belgium
    this is why boot2 is placed on 2 places on the nand
    however, im not sure why it worked as bootmii installation notes the second copy as invalid so the wii is forced to use bootmii... :/
     
  5. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,941
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    If you're now re-installing BootMii as Boot2, why did you remove it in the first place?
    If you did it to update BootMii: NEVER do that, just let the newer version overwrite!

    Yes, there are 2 copies of Boot2 on the Wii
    BootMii only marks the first as invalid, not the other one
    So unless the second one doesn't work, the wii will boot if BootMii isn't found (since BootMii doesn't touch those boot2s, just marks one as invalid)
     
  6. RomMon
    OP

    Newcomer RomMon Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks TJ_cool, I was also looking at hackmii.com to find an article how this exactly works.

    TJ_cool I left some quetions at your forum on completesg.freeforums.org yesterday.
    I basicly got stuck upgrading using the information at sites.google.com/site/completesg/hacking-guide/trucha.

    Reason for uninstalling was that the other procedure asked to re-install BootMii after upgrading to 4.2E (http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=171901). Now I understand that it was a dumb idea, why reinstalling something like BootMii (as boot2) that doesn't rely on IOS, after an IOS upgrade....


    Good info about BootMii as boot2: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=199055
     

Share This Page