Bricked Wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Leo Cantus, Dec 22, 2009.

Dec 22, 2009

Bricked Wii? by Leo Cantus at 3:23 PM (1,354 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Leo Cantus
    OP

    Member Leo Cantus So zeta slow!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    832
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Basically. I was on system menu 4.0 and I havent touched my wii in a long time. I had homebrew channel installed on it with a couple of homebrew games, nothing more. My sister got a fully legit Wii game and we put it in, it said we needed to update so I clicked update. It finished then the screen just went blank..
    I turned the wii off and put it back on and the screen is just blank. No sound or anything. I dont have any bootmii or anything like that. Feel free to call me a noob, I just wanna know if this can be fixed, or if it cant will I be able to send it back to Nintendo for repair
    thanks
     
  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Was the game from the same region as the wii is?
    Else you did an update from the wrong region -> Full Brick

    Since you have no preloader or bootmii, I don't think there's much you can do about it [​IMG]
     
  3. Leo Cantus
    OP

    Member Leo Cantus So zeta slow!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    832
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah. The wii is PAL and so was the game.
     
  4. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    did the power get turned off in the middle of the update?

    Also what game was it?
     
  5. Leo Cantus
    OP

    Member Leo Cantus So zeta slow!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    832
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the update finished, but then the screen just went black and did nothing. So I had to turn it off. The game was new super mario bros
     
  6. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    It probably stuffed up when installing something... (like boot2 or the System Menu)
     
  7. Leo Cantus
    OP

    Member Leo Cantus So zeta slow!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    832
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I guess I cant do anything but see if nintendo will repair it. I am out of warranty, I hope they dont charge too much considering I also have homebrew channl
     
  8. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    They will either charge you £27.40 for a minor repair (repairs outside of warranty period), or £65.50 for major repairs (misuse or physical damage).
    http://www.nintendoservicecentre.co.uk/faqs

    I suppose they could classify the hbc as 'misuse' if they discover it has been tampered with.
     
  9. Leo Cantus
    OP

    Member Leo Cantus So zeta slow!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    832
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the info!
    Do you think it would be classed as minor or major? I mean its a pretty common issue when I was looking over the net
     
  10. Ventrix

    Member Ventrix GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Country:
    United States
    I pretty much just had the same problem i called Nintendo and they are repairing it for free.
     

Share This Page