Bricked Wii - Softmodded, Installed theme then blank screen!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by FuZzCasT, Feb 12, 2011.

  1. FuZzCasT
    OP

    Newcomer FuZzCasT Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Andorra
    Hi,

    Been searching for hours for help..

    I have a Wii 3.2 with the following

    Homebrew channel
    Darkcorp 1.1 installed
    Then I attempted to install a 3.2 theme using Mymenufy and now I get nothing but a blank screen.

    I've tried a few things but I don't understand what I'm doing nor can I find any help... tried posting on another Wii forum but got no response. Looked at heaps of youtube videos, can't get anything to work. Also to add I don't think if have bootmii as boot2 or priiloader.
     
  2. Sonic0509

    Member Sonic0509 Sometimes I'm Maryushi3

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    If Wii drive flashes when turning wii on then you have bootmii installed [​IMG]
     
  3. FuZzCasT
    OP

    Newcomer FuZzCasT Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Andorra
    It flashes one time when I press the on button, that good? Can I find guides to load bootmii then?
     
  4. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    Check to see if you have priiloader
    Check to see if you have boot2 bootmii
    Check to see if savemiifrii loads the recovery menu

    You should be able to fix it by reinstalling the system iOS and system menu from bootmii or priiloader, or updating from a retail disc via savemiifrii.
     
  5. brausm08

    Member brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    USA - Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    for priiloader: power on the wii (on the console), then immediately hold reset. priiloader menu will load if installed...

    for bootmii: if the drive light gives you two quick flashes when you power on the wii, then you have bootmii/boot2...if so, get modmii (link in my sig), install modmii, download bootmii files from modmii (the 'c' option on the main menu...then 'BM', 'your region', 'O', 'Y', 'Y'....then move the contents of the 'COPY_TO_SD' folder to your SD card (such that you have the 'bootmii' folder in the root of your card)...power on wii...

    if you have either of bootmii/boot2 or priiloader, then we should be able to get into HBC, where you can reinstall your System Menu and fix your issues.

    if you have neither of these, then the best situation is you have a NAND backup stored somewhere which you'll need to send with your wii to DeadlyFoez so he can reflash your NAND....

    without either and without a NAND backup, you've got a brick....

    EDIT: forgot about savemiifrii (previous post)...requires a GC controller which you need to disassemble so you can hold down all 4 d-pad buttons simultaneously....
     
  6. FuZzCasT
    OP

    Newcomer FuZzCasT Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Andorra
    Ok, so both tricks didn't work. So only options left are savemefrii (device? or free way?) and using retail game? is that the case?
     
  7. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    Just get a gc controller and do savemiifrii. When the recovery menu loads, insert a retail disc with a sm update 3.3-4.2. Then softmod your wii again.
     
  8. FuZzCasT
    OP

    Newcomer FuZzCasT Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Andorra
    Ok, so what so you're saying is hold down all 4 directional buttons which will load a recovery menu and use the retail game (I can get my hands on Super Smash Bros Brawl soon). But using Savemiifrii is holding down the 4 directional keys on the GC pad? I don't need the device or any extra software other than that? because it doesn't show me a version when I try, although I don't have the game yet.

    I can't any files for savemiifrii other than a device although I've seen a youtube video that shows savemiifrii without the device but it doesn't say anything about files nor can I find them.
     
  9. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    i think SSBB has the 3.1 update on it.
     
  10. FuZzCasT
    OP

    Newcomer FuZzCasT Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Andorra
    So that means using the game to update firmware wouldn't be an option, although there's an exploit in the game that allows me to recover system menu through SD card. Also how would I even get the game to boot?
     
  11. brausm08

    Member brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    USA - Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    you're not getting it...to use the exploit in SSBB, you need to be able to boot the game...you can't boot your wii right now....the trick won't boot the game, it'll boot recovery mode, which will allow you to update.
    you need a game which has an update partition on it which is > than your current version...this will trigger the update and the overwriting of the junk SM you installed.

    here's a list of games which identify which SM update is present on the disc....wish it was prettier, but it ain't.... according to the list, SSBB does indeed have 3.1, which is of no use to you.
     
  12. FuZzCasT
    OP

    Newcomer FuZzCasT Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Andorra
    Thanks for your help guys. I'll get my hands on a game with a more recent firmware. Thank hell I only got 3.2 firmware. I'll be sure to install bootmii and priiloader to make sure this doesn't happen again.

    One last question;

    http://wum.talevas.com/?page=dev

    On this page, it has different region firmwares to, is it safe to assume firmware updates will also be on PAL versions of these games? Guess the only other worry if this isn't the case then maybe it might be a lower firmware? please confirm. Once I get the game it'll automatically boot in to recovery mode if I press down all 4 directional keys on GC pad or it will do it automatically?

    Update: uh...heh...guess not. Just gotta be careful then.
     
  13. FuZzCasT
    OP

    Newcomer FuZzCasT Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Andorra
    *bump*

    *DELETES TEXT*

    UPDATE I GOT IT WORKING!

    It hasn't asked to update, it just went straight to the main menu. I just had to make sure I had the 4 directional keys pressed down before I turned the console on. Then after it display the firmware version I popped the game in. Now it's back to normal!
     
  14. Donkey Plonk

    Member Donkey Plonk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    421
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well done, savemiifree saved your ass. Go careful though, what sys menu you on now? may not be much room for the same to happen again.
    My advice, stop playing with custom menus, they kill wiis. If you really want to, learn how to use sneek and do it in a completely safe environment.
    And get rid of darkcrap!
     

Share This Page