Bricked Wii, Preloader Works,HBC Dont,No Nand Backup Help!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by spawn844, Oct 27, 2010.

  1. spawn844
    OP

    Member spawn844 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Canada
    Hello everyone, i did something real stupid, i made a nand backup, however thats on a 2.5 sdata hard drive and i cant get to it. so now im left here with a wii that wont really start up. i can get into preloader just fine. am i screwed?
    Is there anyway to fix this issue?
    also i installed dark/corp 1.1 if that helps. i just wanted to play kirby-_-

    also i have been looking over this thread
    http://gbatemp.net/t185984-bricked-wii-wit...ackup?&st=0
    i have a compiled version of cboot2 v16 ready to go if that helps:/
    also im a noob when it comes to un bricking a wii as i have never done it before.

    THE HOMEBREW CHANNEL DOES NOT WORK

    Any help at all would be great thanks
     


  2. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    How did you brick it?
     
  3. spawn844
    OP

    Member spawn844 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Canada
    Installed dark/corp 1.1
    I have been out of the wii scene for over a year, so as soon as i came back, i installed that and bam bricked wii
     
  4. Sao Mortel

    Member Sao Mortel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    if you canget into HBC and reinstall all your ios you should be fine.
    MODMII is the way to get all you need.

    EDIT: oops i saw in the title after. I would try to install a .dol of MMM to get those wads installed it might work
     
  5. spawn844
    OP

    Member spawn844 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Canada
    as my title says hbc does not (homebrew channel does not)
     
  6. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Boot into preloader and start the Homebrew Channel
    Put IOS70-64-v6687.wad and System_Menu_4.2.wad on your sd card and use YAWMM to install them.
    Once your back in HBC install Priiloader v0.4.
     
  7. spawn844
    OP

    Member spawn844 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Canada
    ill repeat it again, the homebrew channel does not work, only preloader does
     
  8. CarbonX13

    Member CarbonX13 GBAtemp 台灣人

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,399
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Country:
    Taiwan
    Guys, he clearly states he cannot boot into the Homebrew Channel... = ="

    Do you know the reason you can't boot into the HBC?
     
  9. spawn844
    OP

    Member spawn844 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Canada
    when i click it it says something about being a wrong title or ios, i can not boot into it...at all-_-
     
  10. CarbonX13

    Member CarbonX13 GBAtemp 台灣人

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,399
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Country:
    Taiwan
    I'm thinking the issue is that installing DARKCORP messed up your IOS.

    Some questions:
    1) Do you recall what system menu version you were on?
    2) Do you have BootMii at boot2?
    3) How is your NAND backup unaccessible? Is it that you lost your HDD?

    If you have BootMii at boot2, you can easily place the BootMii files back onto your SD card, and restore you NAND backup if you can get it. (Transfer out of HDD onto PC and then onto SD card)
     
  11. spawn844
    OP

    Member spawn844 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Canada
    trust me i cant get my nand back up and wont be for like a year
    i think im on 3.2..wait no i have that mem card at the buttom 4.2 im pretty sure, or 4.1...
    as for bootmii and boot2. it wouldent install on my wii so no
     
  12. CarbonX13

    Member CarbonX13 GBAtemp 台灣人

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,399
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Country:
    Taiwan
    Well damn, if you have no NAND backup it's going to be complicated, especially since you can't boot into the Homebrew Channel.

    I'm not too familiar with Priiloader, but is it possible that you can boot into BootMii IOS (which you should've installed no matter what)?
     
  13. spawn844
    OP

    Member spawn844 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Canada
    Im sorry this is going to sound noobish
    how would i get into bootmii? i only know how to get into preloader by holding reset and power
     
  14. overlord00

    Member overlord00 A motherfucking birdplane

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Country:
    Australia
    cant you just boot a .dol from within preloader?
     
  15. Sao Mortel

    Member Sao Mortel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok i was not clear enough in my post more clearly...

    1. download modmii
    2. use that and download all ios (page 1, i)
    3. use it also to download mmm (page 2,mmm)
    4. put the .dol of mmm at root of sdcard and install it into preloader.
    5. run it and install all the wads you downloaded
     
  16. .Chris

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    ?


    Im not really sure...
     
  17. spawn844
    OP

    Member spawn844 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Canada
    download ios's from modmii i really hope this works its 1:30 am-_-
     
  18. spawn844
    OP

    Member spawn844 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Canada
    I GOT THE WAD MANAGER TO WORK:)
    but every ios i pick to install stuff wont work..
     
  19. CarbonX13

    Member CarbonX13 GBAtemp 台灣人

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,399
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Country:
    Taiwan
    DARKCORP patched your IOS files. Try a newer WAD Manager if yours is older (WAD Manager 1.7, MMM, etc.) and run from IOS249 and see if it helps.
     
  20. spawn844
    OP

    Member spawn844 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Canada
    wad manager 1.6/1.7 crashes and mmm crashes everytime.
    1.5 wad manager WORKS however whenever i press 249 and it just crashes
     

Share This Page