Bricked ds doesn't start in recovery mode

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by rezer, Aug 8, 2006.

Aug 8, 2006
  1. rezer
    OP

    Newcomer rezer Newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I have a ds with flashme on it and a M3 mini sd, but it bricked when i played brain age ( i don't know why it bricked :'( ).
    So i wanted to boot in recovery mode but it doesn't boot [​IMG]
    Someone know why?
     
  2. Shinseiki

    Newcomer Shinseiki Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    Belgium
    Same as before...

    Test the F1 and F2 fuse, search for a pic in the forum.

    if its blow, bridge it.
     
  3. rezer
    OP

    Newcomer rezer Newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Netherlands
    What are the F1 and F2 fuse?
     
  4. bobbyblunt

    Newcomer bobbyblunt Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    You might want to check your mini-sd card and the slot it goes into for bent and misaligned pins.
    This may have caused your brick.
     
  5. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    no way your system bricked just by playing brain age. there's no firmware writes in that game at all... can you not even boot your DS up with nothing in it?
     
  6. rezer
    OP

    Newcomer rezer Newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Netherlands
    no, i can't boot it, the screens just stay black.
     
  7. bobbyblunt

    Newcomer bobbyblunt Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    There's no firmware writes in ANY game.
    He's blown a fuse. Most likely due to a short from his flashcart/mini-SD.
     
  8. GBAer

    Member GBAer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    My House
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you get any power at all, do you get the power light?, if you do I very much doubt that you have blown the fuse, it must be something else.
     
  9. bobbyblunt

    Newcomer bobbyblunt Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    If you have blown a fuse make sure you find out what blew it before you bridge it. Otherwise you may end up blowing your DS completely as there'll be no fuse to save you this time.
     
  10. rezer
    OP

    Newcomer rezer Newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The power light work, but i still have waranty and i have flashme stealth. I think i'm going to return the ds
     
  11. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    Recovery mode won't work if there is anything in the DS slot. Make sure there is nothing there, then retry recovery mode
     
  12. KINGOFNOOBS

    Member KINGOFNOOBS GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    United States
    That sucks, you voided warranty, rec mode wont work. ehh. Buy a new ds
     
  13. rezer
    OP

    Newcomer rezer Newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ok that sucks...
    i'm still going to try to bring him back..
     
  14. Shinseiki

    Newcomer Shinseiki Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    Belgium
    you can try, many people have done that and they got a fresh DSL
     
  15. corbs132

    Member corbs132 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Country:
    United States
    TECHINCALLY you voided your warantee. nobody notices, i know people who returned a flashme brick without even a question.
     
  16. ackix

    Newcomer ackix Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    France
  17. yee

    Member yee DOTA 4EVER

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    How about using rosin core solder instead of wire?
     
  18. villadelfia

    Newcomer villadelfia Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    Belgium
    Actually, WFC games do write something to the firmware (the WFC settings, that's why you don't have to enter them on every game)
     
  19. fischju_original

    Banned fischju_original I used to be a jerk before i got banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United States
    you beat me too it! i was about to say that, you can brick your ds if you try to get online with old flashme, can't you?
     
  20. OG LOCC NESS

    Member OG LOCC NESS GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Messages:
    537
    Country:
    United States
    okay thx for the info guyz

    Why did you bump such an old topic?
     

Share This Page