BREAKING NEWS - DS Emulation on a PSP

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by ryohki, Aug 10, 2007.

Aug 10, 2007
  1. ryohki
    OP

    Member ryohki GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    Australia
    okay... not 100% sure on the validity of this, but I found the following post...

    Code:
    Nintendo DS emulated on the PSP
    
    For all intents and purposes though, and right off the bat, we'd have to say that we can't host the download. One of the main reasons is that the emulator taps into the BIOS - thus leading to its illegality - and the second reason being its infantile stage. We hear the emulator isn't working all that perfect; running games ends up in lock ups and glitches.
    
    So right now, we'd just have to report about its existence, and for the sake of discussion, talk about the implications. One of the biggest hurdles here, of course, is that, how would a DS emulator work without the DS' biggest features: the touchscreen? The experience of getting to play the real Nintendo DS will be watered down in an emulated Nintendo DS on the PSP, but see, isn't that what emulators are defined as?
    
    We know you have a lot of questions, proclamations, and out bursts of joy. So we'll leave you with two options: 1) you may comment below, or 2) proceed to the forum thread for an in-depth discussion. However. Please bear in mind that we will not tolerate any links, information, or other details on where or how to get ROMs and illegal files.
    url here..... clicky

    what are your thoughts?
     


  2. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    Meh, it'd be hassle free and cheaper to just go out and get a real ds lol
     
  3. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States
  4. .TakaM

    Member .TakaM .II

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Country:
    New Zealand
    retarded.
    you need atleast a mouse to emulate the DS, and the PSP will never ever have it up to 100% working speed.
     
  5. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,849
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    It'd work out using the analogue stick and a cursor. Of course, it would suck, but this is emulation we're talking about.
    And if the PSP can have a full speed PSX emulator I don't see why a a full seed DS one is impossible.
     
  6. ryohki
    OP

    Member ryohki GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    Australia
    I don't know about fake, but I'm sure it's not very good...
    psp has made great steps in emulation, but has anything been able to emulate something else of it's own generation?
    if not, then this is surely quite a step?
     
  7. TheNeck

    Member TheNeck GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    Southern California
    Country:
    United States
    Im sure the PSP could emulate the DSL, but the touch screen aspect would be impossible, plain and simple. Im sure its not fake, im sure they will have a emulator that works some what eventually. But like 754boy said, get a real DS. [​IMG]
     
  8. HeatMan Advance

    Member HeatMan Advance GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    459
    Country:
    United States
    I think they could do the touch screen emulation with the analog stick.

    The reason I think DS emulation wouldn't work though is because of the two screens. They would either have to have an option to switch the display back and forth or shrink the screens to both show at the same time.

    Then there's the mic...

    So yeah, you're better off with a real DS when all is said and done.
     
  9. Crescent

    Member Crescent GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    204
    Location:
    Newport Beach
    Country:
    United States
    yeah and whats a DS without actually being able to use a stylus and touching the buttons
     
  10. FireEmblemGuy

    Member FireEmblemGuy Finally hit 1000 posts

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,271
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I call BS.

    I think anyone who could do emulation coding would realize that it'd probably be too much work, and that there's no good way to emulate every aspect of the DS even half-decently.
     
  11. thegame07

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well qj net is a really good site, why would they lie about it.
     
  12. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    I find this news very untrue. Even if the PSP could emulate the DS, it would probably be very slow and nearly impossible to play with the absence of touch screen support.
     
  13. FireEmblemGuy

    Member FireEmblemGuy Finally hit 1000 posts

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,271
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Well, if they don't know whether or not it's fake, they could post it and not know if they were or weren't lying.
     
  14. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    I find this news [​IMG]

    Hey guys, do you want me to make a PSP emulator for the DS that crashes as soon as it loads an ISO? [​IMG]
     
  15. SynGamer

    Member SynGamer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    No stylus support (no touchscreen) means no point [​IMG]
     
  16. .TakaM

    Member .TakaM .II

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Country:
    New Zealand
    it's not made for the sake of being fun, it's just bragging rights, plain and simple.
     
  17. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Why do people come up with assumptions like this? I remember someone talking about how the DS wouldn't be able to be emulated on PC because of the same reason. The answer to the PC was using the mouse as a "stylus," the answer to the PSP would be to use the analog stick to emulate a stylus (you could easily add in button configurations as well). Things like the dual screen nature can be dealt with too, for example simply putting the screens side by side. Also, I've found that a majority of the games are not really stylus dependent at all. A lot of games use the stylus as a gimmick, but you can simply use assigned buttons to do the same thing.
     
  18. go185

    Member go185 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    230
    Country:
    Touch screen can be emulated with the analogue stick
    the two screens could be side-by-side (abit smaller though) or maybe asign the music symbol button to switch the screens when pressed.
    Mic? only like 5 games use it anyway
     
  19. PikaPika

    Member PikaPika GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    695
    Location:
    AZ
    Country:
    United States
    Even if it got to playable speed, imagine EBA or Trauma Center [​IMG]
     
  20. PuyoDead

    Member PuyoDead Hey! Hey! Oh!

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    698
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Country:
    United States
    They may be able to get some games working enough to play (things like megaman xz), where there isn't much touch screen use. Or maybe, game that use ONLY touch screen (kirby CC). But, I don't see any games that use both being able to be played effectively.

    You would need to use the analog stick + cursor for the touch screen, and the digital for the other buttons. Imagine trying to play metroid prime hunters on that. There's no way. Or, any games where you need quick access to the touch screen for specific on screen buttons (super princes peach).

    In short, it may be technically possible, for it will never be practically possible.

    edit: good point pikadude1006. Those games would also be impossible, considering the tremendous speed and accuracy needed for the touch screen input.
     

Share This Page