Brawl Crashing. Only in Classic mode with Mario character.

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by justrik, Mar 11, 2008.

  1. justrik
    OP

    Newcomer justrik Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hello Guys,

    i have a problem and i think i tried everything.
    when i play BRAWL, it all goes fine. it starts up and i can play the game just like anyone can.

    except when i try to play in Classic mode with the Mario character, de wii totaly crashes. suddenly the game freezes and it's giving me a loud noise from the TV. also the wiimote is constantly vibrating. the only thing that i can do at that moment is to shut it down by releasing the powercord.

    so here are some spec's:

    i got the following wii
    - PAL
    - firmware 3.2E
    - Argon chip with firmware version 1.8
    - no dual channels from BRAWL (updated the update file in truncha signer)

    i tried the following:

    - Argon firmware 1.6
    - DVD9 (memorex +r dual layer)
    - DVD9 with video mode changer
    - DVD9 with regionfrii
    - DVD9 with both..regionfrii and video mode changer

    - DVD5 (with this trick http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=78029 )... burned this on verbatim DVD-R (no stutter in intro movie..so it's a good media and a good burn)
    so i gues since this is a singlelayer DVD, it's not my drive and not my media brand. the mario character is totaly elsewhere positioned on a DVD5 than a DVD9..so no dead spot on the laser.

    so everything i tried runs the game.. except for de mario character in classic mode.
    can you guys try to do the mario classic mode? normally my games freezes within the first 4 stages.

    thanks alot for helping me out!
     
  2. Hardcore Gamer

    Member Hardcore Gamer GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the game also crashes when you complete classic mode with link, at the credits it comes up with a green screen "a error has occurred please switch of the console and refer to the user manual"

    Posts merged

    i don't think he said he is using 50hertz mode? my game crashes when i am using 480i (60hertz) mode.
     
  4. justrik
    OP

    Newcomer justrik Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Netherlands
    well.. same thing..still crashes with mario on 60Hz mode..
     
  5. Hardcore Gamer

    Member Hardcore Gamer GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That sounds like a different crash, this 60hz trick stops the crashing with the loud noise. Does this still do that running at 60hz?
     
  6. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i don't get a loud noise or vibrating wiimote but i do get the error message while using 60hertz mode.
     
  7. ArvinaLove

    Member ArvinaLove GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    174
    Country:
    United States
    Would it be okay if someone just made a topic dubbed: "The Official SSBB Crash Reports" or something along those lines? There are too many topics with crash problems.
     
  8. Marticuno

    Member Marticuno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Norway
    Country:
    Norway
    Does the deflicker change it to 60Hz?
     
  9. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no, leaving the display to 480i in the wii system settings makes the game go automatically into 480p
     
  10. justrik
    OP

    Newcomer justrik Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Netherlands
    well this is new.... my TV does not support 60Hz. so i am stuck with the problem... lol a 42" plasma that doesn't support 60Hz... unbelievable.
     
  11. Hardcore Gamer

    Member Hardcore Gamer GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, but for some reason, if you leave deflicker on and change wii settings to 60hz the game loads only with a blank screen. If you turn deflicker off, you get a blank screen at the start of loading but it comes on for the opening intro.

    I'm certain it's running it in 50hz mode that causes the crashing because it won't crash for me now while running in 60hz mode.
     
  12. justrik
    OP

    Newcomer justrik Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Netherlands
    (nonsens talk)

    edit: not needed anymore..
     
  13. yaggermr

    Newcomer yaggermr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    try verbatim dvd+r dl made in Singapore I had similar problem with memorex dual layer disc burned multiple times with glitchy results. First burn with verbatim disc and my backup worked like a champ.
     
  14. Lazycus

    Member Lazycus Rotten

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    If you are getting lock-ups (frozen screen and loud constant sound) you can always hold the power button (on the console, not the Wiimote) in for 5 seconds and it will shut down. Probably a bit safer than pulling the plug.
     
  15. katsuce

    Member katsuce GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Here and there
    Country:
    France
    playing the full JPN version on a memorex DL DVD+R, with mario on classic mode, works fine
    gotta be a bad burn
     
  16. dydy

    Banned dydy Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    457
    Country:

    jalaneme the classic mode on version US work fine with link i have tried and no bug or crash?? the credits comes and work fine....i have also played the classic mode in the version japanese and no problem?? curious problem you have ?

    I have a WII PAL with wiikey 100% original and 1.9g and firmware 3.2E and work fine version US and Japanese [​IMG]
     
  17. bewitched

    Member bewitched GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Europe
    Country:
    Netherlands
    any of you guys have problems with running the How to Play movie, for me it crashes the game after a minute or so of showing...??
    Post your results before i run off an buy me some more dl disc's [​IMG]
     
  18. Hardcore Gamer

    Member Hardcore Gamer GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All Videos in the data options work fine on my pal d2ckey. The only crashing I've had on a video was when the bomb exploded at the start of SSE. I burnt the game again on fastest speed and it works fine so for me it was a bad burn.
     
  19. bewitched

    Member bewitched GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Europe
    Country:
    Netherlands
    thanx for your reply, which disc did you used (manufacturer)?
     

Share This Page