brand new supercard ds(one) doesn't boot up

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by 02sugand, Jan 9, 2007.

Jan 9, 2007
  1. 02sugand
    OP

    Newcomer 02sugand Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    hey all.
    I just got a nds for Christmas. so i'am basically new to all this. i opted to get a supercard ds(one) solu for my nds lite. It arrived today. now i'am not sure if i have done something wrong or if it's supercard ds(one) itself is the problem. Basically this what i have done i have formatted(FAT) my mircoSD(kingston japan, 1 GB) and put shell folder and MSFORCE.NDS in the root(got these from supercard.cn). put the mircroSD into supercard and put that into my nds lite. now when i start my nds lite i first get the Health and safety screen where it's says to touch screen to continue. after i do that it takes me to nds default frontpage. i'am not sure what i'am doing wrong. this doesn't come with a manual or something that i can lookup. any help will be appreciate.


    P.S: sori for posting b4 in the wrong section. i'am to nervous. took me 9 days to get this card and now it won't boot. :'(
     
  2. Monkey01

    Member Monkey01 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    586
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Euhrm, so you get on this DS frontpage thingy... nothing wrong up till that I suppose? [​IMG]
    Just click the top thing where you normally would boot a normal card also? Or tell when what goes wrong? [​IMG]
     
  3. 02sugand
    OP

    Newcomer 02sugand Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    In the default page it's says 'there is no dS Card inserted' this is above the picochat and ds download play icon. So i don't know how else i can start up supercard DS(one)
     
  4. NowhereLand

    Newcomer NowhereLand Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Spain
    Your Supercard is broken, doesn't work. I have the same problem. The first supercards have this problem. It suppose that the next replacement fixe this problem.
    You have to send back to the store, It's the only solution I know
     
  5. zatelli

    Member zatelli GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    540
    Location:
    Always on the move...
    Country:
    France
    Defective card indeed.
    Code:
    We contacted the manufacture and here is theit reply: 
    
    "This is a pin contact problem, because the first batch of product coming out so fast, so the circuit of DS ONE is a little thin than normal, so your DS console can not detect the DS ONE. The other goods will be OK." 
    
    If your DS One is defective, contact us and we'll get it replaced. I did have some defectives, but it does not mean all of them are bad. Most of them are still good.
    Source: scdev.org
     
  6. 02sugand
    OP

    Newcomer 02sugand Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    nowhereLand. ic and thanxs

    I have written the retailer a e-mail. waiting for his reply. i hope they exchange it. 9 days i have been polishing and shinning the nds lite. waiting for this day when i can play games. but now this happens. does this only happen to supercard ? or it's just a random occurrences [​IMG]

    edit1: thanxs zatalli. that ans my above question. but still need by retailer to confirm he will take it back. maybe this is a blessing in disguise. might get the r4ds instead of this.. hehe
     
  7. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    first blow at your supercard and in the ds lite slot and see if it helps, maybe there is something that blocks the contacts.
     
  8. 02sugand
    OP

    Newcomer 02sugand Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    lenselijer, did that b4 but no success

    also i called my friend over. he has a supercard lite, superkey combo. and that works perfectly.
     
  9. callandor

    Newcomer callandor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Singapore
    did u try it on his ds?
     
  10. bmonkey

    Newcomer bmonkey Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Germany
    A friend of mine has the same problem.
    He got a ds for christmas, and i recomended him the slot 1 sc, because i have a good experience with superkey + sc mini sd.

    The ds crashes with the card inside, or boots and does not recognize the slot1 card.
    Blowing and stuff doesnt help, i tried it in 2 ds lite, and it was the same problem.

    i wrote to gamersection.ca, and wait for a answer...

    Why do they sell stuff that doesnt work! [​IMG]
     
  11. chari

    Member chari GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    Canada
    I know someone who repairs nintendo consoles and he says NEVER BLOW into it (console or game) as your breath will create condensation and eventually corrupt the pin connectors until it is beyond repair. So the only way to get it to work afterwards is to replace pin connectors with new ones *and this is a bastard of a process too* He says people should never have done this in the past cos it may have been a temporary solution, but in the long run it surely wisna.

    I'll just assume the same would go for any nintendo stuff. There shouldn't be any reason ta blow [​IMG]
     
  12. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    lol, i always do it with my 1985 nes console and it still works now, so i dont think it will harm [​IMG]
     
  13. rrg

    Newcomer rrg Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    Return it.
    Faulty batch of red thin PC boards.
    The new improved ones work fine.
     
  14. donkeyman

    Newcomer donkeyman Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    Still waiting for my faulty green PCB to get replaced. Going to R4 DS next. Not worth the time and effort it took me to figure this thing out. I'd rather be playing.
     
  15. scdsone

    Newcomer scdsone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    do you have to take apart your scdsone to find out what color your PCB is?
     
  16. eyemessiah

    Newcomer eyemessiah Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    Just look at the little strip at the top of the metal pins that connect to the DS. You should be able to see either a red or green bit above each one.

    My SCDS with a green pcb (I think) did the same btw. You can try holding down L+R when you turn the DS on and if you get some errors your card is probably faulty. If it doesn't detect it all though, you might not even get the self-test. Mine detected sometimes, sometimes didn't. I returned it and swapped it for an R4DS, which has worked like a magical dream come true so far, though mind you I hear the new SCDS's are better than the first run.

    Also my R4 had a scary episode of non-detection briefly (like 20 minutes), but it turned out it just wasn't sitting right, but I nearly blew a fuse of the "teh slot 1 flashkits are teh suk!!!" kind.


    Good luck getting yours sorted!
     
  17. zatelli

    Member zatelli GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    540
    Location:
    Always on the move...
    Country:
    France
    I think I've found the culprit [​IMG] , the supercardDS is to blame. Make sure to check this Topic & give that method a try prior to either dumping your card or sending it back.
    BTW, my supercard DS works fine (red PCB) ever since I bought it on December 22nd, I'm yet to experiment that problem with it. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page