Bought my chipped Wii back from a friend..need to update?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by scottsimon1979, Aug 28, 2010.

  1. scottsimon1979
    OP

    Newcomer scottsimon1979 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Hey all,

    Looking for some advice/help. I just bought my old chipped Wii back from a friend. I sold it to them about a year and a half ago, and it has had no updates done to it since then. Its basically in the exact same condition as I gave it to her. It currently has system menu 3.3U installed. Its chipped with a WiiKey V1. It plays all my old backed up games I gave to her, including Mario Galaxy 1, Mario Kart Wii, Twilight Princess, Etc. It also plays Gamecube backups fine. However, I just bought New Super Mario Bros Wii and its trying to force me to update. I am kinda scared to do that. I've been out of the scene so long that I am not sure where to start.
    I updated my Homebrew channel to the latest and downloaded homebrew broswer and I've been able to update all my old apps. I had an issue installing wads until I realizeded I had IOS249 installed. Uninstalled and wads are installing fine.

    So...with my current setup, whats the best way to proceed? Below is a readout from "sysCheck" on the homebrew broswer. Thanks for any help!


    sysCheck v2.0 by Double_A
    ...runs on IOS51 (rev 4633).

    Region: NTSC-U
    System Menu 3.3 (v353)
    Hollywood v0x11
    Console ID: 34622699
    Boot2 v2

    Found 103 titles.
    Found 22 IOS on this console. 0 of them are stub.

    IOS4 (rev 3): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
    IOS9 (rev 516): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
    IOS11 (rev 10): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
    IOS12 (rev 6): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
    IOS13 (rev 10): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
    IOS14 (rev 257): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
    IOS15 (rev 260): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
    IOS17 (rev 512): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
    IOS20 (rev 12): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
    IOS21 (rev 517): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
    IOS22 (rev 772): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
    IOS28 (rev 1288): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
    IOS30 (rev 2576): ES Identify, Flash Access
    IOS31 (rev 2576): ES Identify, Flash Access
    IOS33 (rev 1040): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
    IOS34 (rev 3087): No Patches
    IOS35 (rev 1040): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
    IOS36 (rev 1042): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
    IOS37 (rev 2070): ES Identify
    IOS51 (rev 4633): No Patches
    IOS249 (rev 2070): Trucha Bug
    IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
    BC v4
    MIOS v8

    Report generated on 2010/08/28.
     
  2. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,540
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    ...New Super Mario Bros Wii has update 4.2 which is softmodable, so you can update. Please Install IOS58 and reinstall the Homebrew Channel with the latest hackmii installer. Syscheck is OK, it wont brick the wii.
     
  3. matguitarist

    Member matguitarist GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    install bootmii and preloader before upgrading. You have a bootv2 so your brick protect with boot mii and preloader could block any update from nintendo

    just use this hacks.ini

    it's for all 4.x version and all regions

    thanks to damysteryman to update all da_letter_a hack for 4.3
     
  4. dn_angel000

    Member dn_angel000 Phantom User

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Country:
    United States
    I would update all ur IOSs then add the game and c if u still get the update notice!! lol
     
  5. scottsimon1979
    OP

    Newcomer scottsimon1979 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    So i just want to go over this to make sure i dont screw myself...install ios58 and then install the bootmii/HBC installer? i did that, and im getting a menu when i turn on the wii that lets me go to wii menu, HBC, or backup to sd card. the game disc still prompts for an update. am i now ok to accept it, or should i just install preloader to block it? my apologies for all the questions!
     
  6. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,540
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    You can accept the the update now, it's OK. To fix this that you wii not ask to go to system menu, HBC,... you need to change the line in bootmii.ini in the bootmii folder on your sd card from: BOOTDELAY=5 to BOOTDELAY=0
     
  7. scottsimon1979
    OP

    Newcomer scottsimon1979 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Excellent. Everythings working and I can now play the new disc I bought. Many thanks!

    On a related note, the Wii Shop Channel is also prompting for a (separate) update, it seems. Is this the same deal...i'm ok to install that update, or should I just ignore it? The only reason I even want to go into the shop channel is that I know I bought a lot of VC games when I owned the Wii the first time, and wouldnt mind getting some of that stuff back.

    Again, thank you for all your help Fix94. Most especially for giving me clear and concise directions. Vielen Dank!

    And thanks to matguitarist as well.
     
  8. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,540
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Don't update with the Shop Channel, this will install you 4.3 and overwrite all IOSes! To safe update the shop channel, start Dop-Mii, use IOS36, go to Channels and make sure Shopping Channel is selected. Then press plus, answer with YES and Download from NUS. After this you can use the shop channel again [​IMG]
     

Share This Page