Botched G6 flash install, still saveable?

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by jonny_eh, Sep 3, 2006.

Sep 3, 2006
  1. jonny_eh
    OP

    Newcomer jonny_eh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I attempted to flash my DSL using a G6 lite, which is apparently REALLY stupid. There weren't any warnings against this on the dspassme.com site.

    Anyways, I shorted during the install! Doh. I believe it was at the 1% point !!

    Now I know that the G6 does not support recovery mode, my question is: Is it worth buying another flash cart just to run recovery mode (and then resell it)? Or is the fact that it failed ~1% mean that it can't be resurrected, and I should get a new DSL?

    Thanks for the help [​IMG]
     
  2. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    It is recoverable, but not with the G6. It is generally accepted that the touch screen ability is causing it. Try booting with A+B+Select+Start with only the G6 in (nothing in DS slot). If you see the G6 menu, then it is recoverable, but with another device.
     
  3. corbs132

    Member corbs132 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Country:
    United States
    wtf? it doesnt matter what card you use! i flashed with my g6, no problem. why cant you recover?
     
  4. jonny_eh
    OP

    Newcomer jonny_eh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    When I turn on my DSL, I get nothing. I tried starting it while holding A+B+START+SELECT, and A+B+X+Y+START+SELECT, but it doesn't work. And yes, I removed my passcard from the DS slot.

    I'm guessing now the the flashme recovery mode won't work on my dsl, no matter which flashcart I use.

    Can it be saved using a bios hotswap? If so, where are there instructions on how to do it?

    Thanks!
     
  5. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    The G6 will freeze when trying to load via recovery mode. Try it out, hold A+B+Select+Start to see it freeze at Data Processing.
     
  6. jonny_eh
    OP

    Newcomer jonny_eh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm not even fortunate enough to get to that point [​IMG]
    What are my options? I keep hearing about hot swapping? How is this done?
     
  7. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    hot swapping is booting up a workin flashed DS, then before you press XBXB, you switch the working BIOS chip with the messed up one.
     
  8. jonny_eh
    OP

    Newcomer jonny_eh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I guess hot swapping isn't very feasible. Do you think I could get away with exchanging my system with Nintendo, since I have a cracked hinge?
     
  9. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    you're better off trying to exchange at the store you bought it from.
     
  10. WishCow

    Newcomer WishCow Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Hungary
    Isn't the older firmwares of the G6 are compatible with the recovery mode?
    Or I just misread it somewhere?
     
  11. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    you misread, the g6 has problems starting up in recovery mode because of the way it's own loader implementation. (AKA while flushing the sram).
     
  12. WishCow

    Newcomer WishCow Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Hungary
    Oh thanks for clearing that up.

    I ordered 3 G6s a week ago with a passcard, planning to flash 3 DSes, and now I find out that if I screw the flashing I'm done for. (except for the hotswapping)
     
  13. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    I've never mis-shorted the sl1 and I've always just used a insulated paper clip bent to a u-shape, just watch where you're sticking the shorting device in and you should be ok with steady hands. But if you are fearful I suggest you have a supercard or a m3 handy.
     
  14. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    the foil + toothpick tool I used managed to turn the DS off while flashing. Using a small wire works very well.
     
  15. jonny_eh
    OP

    Newcomer jonny_eh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    People keep mentioning this hot swapping. Are there any instructions online? I've searched, but have not found anything.

    How is it done? When I buy my replacement DS, it'd be nice to fix my broken one and resell it.
     
  16. WishCow

    Newcomer WishCow Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Hungary
    It was posted on scdev.org first, but I think one gbatemp member made a whole page for it with details and pictures, I'm sure you can find a link here on the forums if you search for bios swap.
     
  17. jonny_eh
    OP

    Newcomer jonny_eh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada

Share This Page