bootmii + unsupported boot1 help

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by wiiman123, May 17, 2009.

May 17, 2009
  1. wiiman123
    OP

    Member wiiman123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    938
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I was just wondering if it will ever be possible to use the boot2 method to install bootmii, if you get a message that your boot1 can't install boot2. (-2)

    This particular wii was purchases with 3.3U, now 3.2U. Find it strange the the boot1 wouldn't be supported.

    What are my options? what are the benefits of having boot2 vs IOS?
     
  2. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It would brick.
     
  3. wiiman123
    OP

    Member wiiman123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    938
    Country:
    New Zealand
    likely that bootmii coders are going to ever fix this?
     
  4. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    "boot2 method to install BootMii" "use boot1 to install..."

    You seriously did not understand how it works. You could install BootMii as boot2 on all Wiis(just get a BootMii .wad and install it...), but on the Wiis with the fixed boot1, boot1 would refuse to load boot2/BootMii then. I can't imagine a worse brick except hardware defects.
     
  5. wiiman123
    OP

    Member wiiman123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    938
    Country:
    New Zealand
    excuse my original wording...just in a hurry when i was typing... i realize how the how boot process works... boot0 loads boot1, boot1 load boot2.

    Glad that the install does detect and block unsupported boot1 wiis
     

Share This Page