Bootmii Safe?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by gilaben, Jul 31, 2009.

Jul 31, 2009

Bootmii Safe? by gilaben at 5:13 AM (1,391 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. gilaben
    OP

    Newcomer gilaben Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    So I'm putting the finishing touches on a friends Wii. Right now it's got...

    Sys Menu 4.1U
    Cios REV 10
    Preloader 0.29

    Anyways, I've been looking into Bootmii to avoid Bricks for him. I haven't tried it myself as I've got a newer Wii.

    So I Install to Boot2 then do the 'Prep the SD Card' thing. Bootmii gave me the AOK and everything seemed fine. From what I've read Bootmii is supposed to autoboot everytime but for some reason it didn't! Did I do something wrong during the installation process?

    Also WiiBrew said to be cautious because Bootmii is permanent. Do ya'll think in the long run it'll be safe.
     
  2. kLiNiKaL

    Member kLiNiKaL Dr. Greenthumb

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Los Ganjales
    Country:
    Jamaica
    if will only show the bootmii menu if you have the SD inserted.

    check theres a /bootmii folder on your SD.

    update your cIOS to rev14 also (see my sig.)

    bootmii is about as safe as they come, but as with all homebrew theres a slight risk when installing anything.
     
  3. crwys

    Member crwys GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,146
    Country:
    United States
    Bootmii is pretty much as safe as it gets.
     
  4. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    I believe the HackMii installer v2 as a BootMii uninstaller (am I wrong..??)...!! [​IMG]
     
  5. kLiNiKaL

    Member kLiNiKaL Dr. Greenthumb

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Los Ganjales
    Country:
    Jamaica
    +1 TRUE
     
  6. OtakuGamerZ

    Member OtakuGamerZ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Country:
    United States
    if it doesn't boot up as soon as the wii turns on, i think you used a bad SD card, but that doesn't matter as long as you can backup your NAND and get a better card if it bricks. Hackmii Installer v2 can uninstall as stated above. finally the newest cIos is rev 14. Update IF you want.
     
  7. Kakkoii

    Member Kakkoii Old fart

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    620
    Country:
    Canada
    Should of used StartPatch on your friends Wii instead of Preloader.
     
  8. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Boooooh, Preloader FTW...!! [​IMG]
     
  9. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Bootmii-boot2 is very safe to install and is even update proof. Preloader will not ever survive a system menu update, but no update will kill a boot2 install of bootmii unless Nintendo specifically targets Wii's with it installed which could brick them, but that would cause legal issues so they won't do that.

    If, when you turn on the Wii you see it flash quickly a couple more times than usual, that means it installed properly to boot2. If it still does not boot at startup. Try backing up the stuff on your sd card to your pc and then formatting it with the sd formatter tool. Then put just the bootmii folder with it's 3 files in it back on that card and put it back in the Wii and boot it up again. If it still does not load, then you need to use a different SD card that is compatible with bootmii.
     
  10. PettingZoo

    Member PettingZoo yesss

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,707
    Location:
    in the trap
    Country:
    Australia
    +1
     
  11. Kakkoii

    Member Kakkoii Old fart

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    620
    Country:
    Canada
    Lol, +1 for what? Not being able to accept change [​IMG]?

    There isn't much need for Preloader anymore now that we have StartPatch.
     
  12. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    There's still plenty of need for preloader. It's the only option people with boot2v4 Wii's have for brick protection.

    Also it's pretty cool having my system autoboot straight into Coverfloader because of bootmii autobooting the system menu, autobooting preloader, which autoboots the .dol for coverflow.

    I don't even use my system menu at all anymore so Startpatch wouldn't really do anything at all for me.
     

Share This Page