Bootmii OSX

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by SonicMC, May 16, 2009.

May 16, 2009

Bootmii OSX by SonicMC at 6:56 AM (1,952 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. SonicMC
    OP

    Newcomer SonicMC Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    I was thinking how bootmii unlocks the entire system to developers. I then thought about osx and that it may be able to use the extra resources. I then looked at each of the specs and rerealized that it didn't look possible but,I thought it was interesting how close the wii actually looks and takes after a steve job's mac mini. A nice pretty little box with ports, a cpu, a video card and ect. Then if we look at the requirements for running 10.4 and compare them to the wii. It looks like we are only missing like a HDD more ram, and the technicality of a of a Firewire port. It always makes me wonder if OSX could be shaved down enough to run on a external HDD and use a Flash stick as ram. I don't really think it is real possible or probable and it could be done it would likely be slow. I still thought it was interesting to think about. I Also looked at the PS3 technical standpoint if the PS3 were to ever get hacked to allow full use of the system it would be a more likely candidate. Since it has the HDD and barely enough ram and is only lacking the firewire port. Anyway I was wondering if anyone else thought that the wii or PS3 could be hacked to run a modified version of OSX off of usb using a Highspeed flash drive as ram? Listed below are the min requirements for 10.4 and the tech specs for processor and memory from Wii and PS3. I am probably bringing back a old thread but I do recognize that with bootmii we have entire access to the wii and we never had that before to my knowledge.

    10.4 Power PC requirements. From wikipedia

    The system requirements of the PowerPC edition are:[6]

    * A PowerPC G3, G4, or G5 processor running at 333 MHz or more
    * Built-in FireWire
    * At least 256 MB of RAM (512 MB or 1 GB recommended)
    * At least 3 GB of available hard disk space; 4 GB of disk space including the Xcode 2 Tools
    * DVD drive (CD media exchange was available; offer ended 19 March 2007)

    Wii Tech specs From wikipedia

    Processors:

    * CPU: PowerPC-based "Broadway" processor, made with a 90 nm SOI CMOS process, reportedly† clocked at 729 MHz[87]
    * GPU: ATI "Hollywood" GPU made with a 90 nm CMOS process,[88] reportedly† clocked at 243 MHz[87]

    Memory:

    * 88 MB main memory (24 MB "internal" 1T-SRAM integrated into graphics package, 64 MB "external" GDDR3 SDRAM)[89]
    * 3 MB embedded GPU texture memory and framebuffer.

    PS3 Tech specs from http://playstation.about.com/od/ps3/a/PS3SpecsDetails_3.htm

    Memory:

    * 256MB XDR Main RAM @3.2GHz
    * 256MB GDDR3 VRAM @700MHz

    CPU: Cell Processor

    * PowerPC-base Core @3.2GHz
    * 1 VMX vector unit per core
    * 512KB L2 cache
     
  2. iWolf

    Newcomer iWolf Newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Germany
    Booting Os x on a Wii is a nice thought.
    But ! You forgot that ( if there is a posibility to run it) we´ll need Effi.
    So we would need some hacked os x disks (may you know them )
    or some kind of a chamelon bootloader that emulate an effi.

    2nd.
    We would need .kext´s ( windows users will say drivers ^.^)
    I dont think any of the hardware would be useable.


    3rd
    Why? It would be slow ( but its a ppc , so 10.3 would be faster) and If you want a cheap mac , you could go and buy a g4/3 mac at Ebay or hack an Apple TV.
    Only for Front row would an iWII be cool ;-)
     
  3. Praxis

    Member Praxis GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United States
    That's only for Intel Macs. Try the PowerPC version.

    Still...I suspect this would be difficult.
     
  4. cwstjdenobs

    Member cwstjdenobs Sodomy non sapiens

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why not just wait for a Linux or BSD port?
     
  5. dottor_male

    Member dottor_male GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Country:
    Italy
    I think we don't have enough ram...
     
  6. SpAM_CAN

    Member SpAM_CAN GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    External RAM for the win [​IMG]

    I would love this! Seriously though, getting Mac OSX to run on a PC is annoying enough. (Bloody intel wifi...)
     
  7. SonicMC
    OP

    Newcomer SonicMC Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Consoles can make it a little easier than pcs in some circumstances, PCs have an almost unlimited amount of different configurations, The wii however is almost exactly the same between the different releases with only minor differences.

    I recognize the ram issue, external ram might be possible or if we go back to 10.0 we will see that only 64mb of ram is required. But I'm not sure we would want to go back that far.

    I also realize that we would need different kexts/drivers and modifications to the OS. but then again on the wii it would only have to be written once rather than a million times for the different configurations.

    I also do not technically need to run osx as I have a mac mini! I got a used 60GB intel core solo with 512mb of ram, and a 19 inch lcd samsung monitor for 225$ including shipping off of ebay.

    I'm going to bet even at this time that you would have a hard time beating that!
     
  8. SpAM_CAN

    Member SpAM_CAN GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a Macbook, and love it!
     
  9. SpAM_CAN

    Member SpAM_CAN GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why not have a go at putting OS9 on the Wii? It could definitely be done.
     
  10. piratesmack

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States
    Eh too much work.

    The PS3 and Wii can already run Linux.
    Linux is better [​IMG]

    I'm sure we'll see many improvements in Wii Linux now that BootMii is out.
    Hopefully support for the Wii's built-in wifi will come soon
     

Share This Page