Bootmii, isn't booting anymore?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by oliverbomb, May 31, 2009.

May 31, 2009
  1. oliverbomb
    OP

    Member oliverbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hi, at first when I installed bootmii, and got the SD card prepared, the Wii did boot to Bootmii, as long as the SD card was inserted, even though I don't need it now,

    I wonder, why isn't it booting anymore?
     
  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    So you removed the SD card from the wii?
    Bootmii runs when it finds a specific file on sd card (the one it installed when preparing the sd card)
     
  3. oliverbomb
    OP

    Member oliverbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No it's in it now, and Bootmii folder is on it, should I reinstall the Bootmii on the Sdcard (prepare again)
     
  4. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Did you (un)install/do something recently?
    Installing bootmii again will probably work
     
  5. Scolor

    Member Scolor GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    Italy
    Prepare the SD card again trough HackMii 0.2 [​IMG]
     
  6. Eddie_Brock

    Member Eddie_Brock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    Country:
    Canada
    I actually am having the same problem.

    Originally I used a seperate SD card because I believed that BootMii was going to format the card,and did not want to lose my Homebrew Apps. I tried copying the contents of that SD card back to my HB SD card, and it did not work. I then went in and tried to reinstall the BootMii as IOS with my normal card and it is still not booting up BootMii.
    (I can still access it via HBC)
     
  7. PNo4

    Member PNo4 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    Sweden
    Same, depending on what i do, bootmii starts/stops working at Wii-boot.

    Doing a NAND backup kills the boot.

    Deleting the NAND backup from SD, and bootmii starts again.

    Might be my SD-card though...
     
  8. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    This happened to me too, what size and brand of an sd card are you using?
     
  9. PNo4

    Member PNo4 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    Sweden

    Me?

    I'm using the Blue Sandisk on this picture.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Eddie_Brock

    Member Eddie_Brock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    Country:
    Canada
    Me as well! 2gb Sandisk

    As for the NAND backup, I HAVE performed one, but promptly moved the .bin to my PC and deleted it off the card.


    Posts merged

    The original card I used (that booted BootMii) was a SanDisk 1GB card... interesting.
     
  11. oliverbomb
    OP

    Member oliverbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I am using 4 GB, ADATA Memorycard. ^^

    And I did a NAND backup yes, I think it was after that, that it stopped booting!

    I deleted the nand backup though... well I'm going to try it now =)
     
  12. oliverbomb
    OP

    Member oliverbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Tested, SDcard Issue.. Worked fine with a 512 MB MINI SD card, so no worries. [​IMG]


    ========================

    TESTING:

    1) Prepare SDCard again, with bootmii. -> 4 GB SDCARD ADATA BOOT: FAIL
    2) Prepare SDCard again, with bootmii. -> Remove BOOTMII from NAND, reinstall BOOTMII to NAND: FAIL
    3) Prepare SDCARD again, (4GB ADATA) Copy files to 512 MB MiniSD) : WORKED
    - GC Memorycards removed all times.
    - GC Controller ports free all times.

    Hope this tells you people something. ^^
     
  13. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    weird.

    I did a nand backup, and its still on there, and Bootmii still boots.
    I am using a sandisk 1GB card.
    I also have a gc memory card in, and a gc controller plugged in.
     
  14. Eddie_Brock

    Member Eddie_Brock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    Country:
    Canada
    I have been researching around a bit on the wiibrew forums, where the coders discuss the program. Here is what I have been able to find out so far:

     
  15. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    Hmm. I was using a Lexar 2 gig, I tried my kodak 512 and kingston micro and they all worked except for my 2 gig. Maybe some card compatibility issues?
     

Share This Page