Bootmii - IOS. Can it help ?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by 1ronlung, Jul 29, 2009.

Jul 29, 2009

Bootmii - IOS. Can it help ? by 1ronlung at 4:39 AM (1,462 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. 1ronlung
    OP

    Member 1ronlung GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    I'm hopeing someone can clarify the following for me. I have done reading first, but I'm not as clued up on the scene as you guys...

    I have Bootmii installed as an IOS. Wii is too new to have as boot2.
    I've made a backup of my NAND onto SD card.

    Now, the impression I'm getting is that it's a pointless exercise. As an IOS it won't recover from a full brick, or even a banner brick or bad wad.
    Is there any circumstance where it would be useful ?

    And, yes, I do have other measures in place to prevent a game backup update from another region [​IMG]

    Thanks,
    ironlung
     
  2. bp2000

    Member bp2000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    United States
    well you could install preloader than run homebrew channel though that and open bootmii and restore the nand
     
  3. 1ronlung
    OP

    Member 1ronlung GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    I'm on 3.3E

    Am I correct in saying in order to install preloader, I either have to upgrade to 4.0 or downgrade to 3.2 ?
     
  4. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    I think it actually doesn't let you do that. Like it says too dangerous to proceed or something. So I think at the moment the only real useful use of it would be using cboot2 with it, but even that isn't even needed anymore due to the Trucha Bug Restorer.

    So yea I guess there really isn't much use for it yet...
     
  5. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No you couldn't unfortunately. It has been confirmed on the Bootmii forums that it's too dangerous.
     
  6. jackdanielchan

    Member jackdanielchan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    539
    Country:
    Japan
    If you only have Bootmii as an IOS how do you back up your nand? There's a bug for systems that can only run Bootmii as an IOS cannot scroll through the menu with the Wii front buttons...
     
  7. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You'll need a Gamecube controller.
     
  8. Lexip;

    Member Lexip; GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    GC Controller
     
  9. Jeomite

    Member Jeomite GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    The followup question would be - why would you backup your NAND when you can't restore it (when BootMii is used as an IOS)?


    Using the NAND backup on a different Wii system? I believe I read the NAND backup is "serialized" for that specific Wii only somewhere...
     
  10. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well maybe future versions will allow IOS restores through preloader or a new program written by Team TweezerÂ.
     
  11. piratesmack

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States
    You can restore it with bootmii as an IOS, but it's very dangerous and not recommended.
     
  12. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Oh yeah ? And how would you be doing it ? Preloader method doesn't work. Confirmed by TT.
     
  13. piratesmack

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States
    I admit I've never actually tried it myself, but BootMii does allow you to restore your NAND when installed as an IOS.
    It just gives you a warning message and makes you press some weird button combination to continue.

    It is extremely dangerous, though, since you have no way of saving yourself if the NAND.bin is corrupted or the power goes out while restoring.
     
  14. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'm pretty sure this isn't accurate. Do you have any documentation about this ?

    AFAIK the only way to restore from IOS is using an external Nand programmer like Infectus.
     
  15. piratesmack

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States
    As I said before, I've never actually restored my NAND with BootMii installed as an IOS.
    So I have no idea if it would work, all I know is BootMii will allow you to do it if you press A+B+X+Y on the GC controller.
     
  16. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    My bad. Didn't know that..

    Well.... another leason learnt.

    Anyone willing to try if it works ? [​IMG]
     

Share This Page