Bootmii Gives "No Signal" and restarts Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by WiiChamp12, May 2, 2010.

May 2, 2010
  1. WiiChamp12
    OP

    Newcomer WiiChamp12 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Hello GBATemp Community! I'm a new member here and I have a question hopefully you guys can help me with! (Hopefully I'm posting this in the right place as well).

    In regards to Bootmii: I could only install it as an IOS, and I launch it from the HBC. But when I do, the TV then goes to "No signal" then restarts the Wii with the welcome screen. Is there a fix to this?

    And also speaking of "restarting", when I click Wii Menu on any game, it literally restarts the Wii and gives the warning screen, instead of the "Wii box animation". I do have preloader installed as well.

    Thanks!
     
  2. WiiChamp12
    OP

    Newcomer WiiChamp12 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, I am trying to remember what I installed. I remember installing the patched IOS files so that I can run Wii Backup games. I was never able to get into Bootmii and create a NAND backup. Preloader is set to autoboot to the Wii Menu at IOS70.

    The main thing I'm frustrated is that the Wii always does a "restart" instead of returning to the Wii Menu, prompting the "Health Warning" screen every time I press reset (in homebrew) or Wii Menu on all games.
     
  3. WiiChamp12
    OP

    Newcomer WiiChamp12 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    I play backups through the USB Launcher. If I remember correctly, it downloaded necessary patches automatically, but since it was last week, I am not quite sure exactly which ones it installed.

    I do remember I patched IOS249 from waninkoko
     
  4. WiiChamp12
    OP

    Newcomer WiiChamp12 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    I am actually using Preloader (a white screen v0.3) and am on 4.2.

    Do I still follow this procedure?
     
  5. WiiChamp12
    OP

    Newcomer WiiChamp12 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I bought this two weeks ago, but the copyright is still 2006. Does this make any difference?
     
  6. WiiChamp12
    OP

    Newcomer WiiChamp12 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I got it at Costco. Can you give me good instructions to fix this issue. The main thing I want to clear up is the prevention of a "hard restart" every time I press Wii Menu. It doesn't do give the Wii animation (where the Wii logo transitions from top left to bottom right). Instead, the screen flashes, and gives me the Health and Warning Screen.

    Thanks in advance! [​IMG]
     
  7. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    1) make a nand backup
    2) u can't access bootmii probably because u don't have the bootmii folder/files on your sd card (if those are missing, then the HBC's launch bootmii button does nothing). If u lost these files, just launch the hackmii installer again
    3) u should follow a good guide to update your cios... I recommend using nus auto downloader from my signature or the complete softmod guide.
    4) Reinstall priiloader v0.4, make sure u have the right hacks.ini saved to the root of ur SD card, then enable/disable the hacks u want (to fix ur problem u need to enable the skip health screen, or auto-press A at health screen hacks)
     
  8. WiiChamp12
    OP

    Newcomer WiiChamp12 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    If I press Format Wii System Memory, will that reinstall the operating system safely? (and then I can reuse banner brick and return all settings back)?
     
  9. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    do not format your wii's memory, that will only remove your saves and channels, it wont fix anything else

    u can re-hack your wii from the start of the complete softmod guide or nus auto downloader guide
     
  10. jelmew

    Member jelmew GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Reinstall the bootmii files on the sd. By running hackmii and preparing the sd-card again. It can't boot it, if it isnt there. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page