BootMii doesn't work... at all.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Aijelsop, Jul 8, 2011.

Jul 8, 2011
  1. Aijelsop
    OP

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    Idk why I haven't asked this earlier... .-. It's been about a year since I soft-modded my Wii. The first time I installed it, it worked fine, (part of the softmodding guide).

    After soft-modding. It won't work. Just loads up a black screen. I've tried re-installing it, but that does nothing... -.-

    Any help?
     
  2. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Delete "SD:\bootmii\" and reinstall bootmii.
     
  3. Aijelsop
    OP

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    Okay. I'll try.
    How do I reinstall it? Re-download the HackMii installer and choose BootMii on it?
     
  4. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Yes.
     
  5. Aijelsop
    OP

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    Sweet [​IMG] It worked.

    I remember backing up my NAND or something like that with BootMii. Do I need to re-do this, and if so, how? I forget... .-.

    (The guide called for reformatting your SD card, so idk if I saved the NAND thing)
     
  6. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    You probably do need to redo it then...the dump is saved as a file on your SD called NAND.bin.

    You can make a new one in bootmii: Select the gear icon on the far right of the bootmii menu, then select the icon that has an arrow pointing from a chip to an SD card (the first choice the options screen).
     
  7. Aijelsop
    OP

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I will. How does this help in the future?

    0-o I have 493MB left. Theres not enough space to back it up...
     
  8. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    If you brick your wii, it can be restored to unbrick.

    Also, it can be unpacked and used to make a NAND for SNEEK.
     
  9. Aijelsop
    OP

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    So if I backup it now, brick, and restore next month sometime, it will have the same MyMenyify theme, same channel positions, etc?
     
  10. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    The wii will look exactly like it did when the backup was made. Anything you added after the backup will be deleted, changes will be undone, and save data will be reverted to the state it is in now (you'll lose any progress made since the backup).

    Also, assuming you have bootmii installed as boot2, you probably will never need to restore the backup. With bootmii as boot2, you can usually start HBC and unbrick it from there.
     
  11. Aijelsop
    OP

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, I have Priiloader... Idk if that affected the choice of it, but it only let me install as IOS. I like Priiloader'
     
  12. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    If it can only be installed as IOS, it's because your wii has a newer (fixed) boot1 which cannot support bootmii as boot2. Priiloader has nothing to do with it.

    Keep priiloader installed, because Bootmii IOS does not provide brick protection.

    Also, be sure to put the NAND backup somewhere safe, because if you ever do brick to the point where priiloader no longer works (e.g. an uninstalled system menu), someone with an infectus can fix your wii using that backup
     
  13. Aijelsop
    OP

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    I have a Wii from March 2007... I only sent it in once to get a replacement disc drive. [​IMG] [broken]

    Once I load HBC, and Launch Bootmii, can I switch SD cards? [more space] and if so, does Bootmii backup work with SDHC?

    Anyway, thanks for your help.
     
  14. obcd

    Member obcd GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,594
    Country:
    Belgium
    Bootmii just needs the bootmii folder and it's contents on your sd card to work properly.
    Can't you just copy over those to the bigger sd card, and avoid the need to swap once bootmii is running.
    Normally, a removal and insertion of an sd card are detected by a program using it. I have no idea how bootmii handles these.
     
  15. Aijelsop
    OP

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I don't have access to a computer atm, but my Wii, along with the SD. So all I need to do is copy over SD:/bootmii to my other SD and launch it via HBC?

    Easy enough.
     
  16. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Are you sure you got the same Wii back? A March 2007 unit should be bootmii/boot2 capable.

    As for Bootmii being SDHC compatible, I don't have an SDHC card to test it with, but I'd imagine so. Easiest way to find out is to put the bootmii folder on it, then try running bootmii with it.
     
  17. Aijelsop
    OP

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    0-o They would send me a new Wii?

    Well, all the problem was, it was a disc drive problem, and the eject button was broken... (had to push it in really hard) Um, I forgot to tell them about the eject button problem, the Wii had a fixed drive, AND the eject drive worked.

    I noticed the "Wii's Nickname" in the system settings was named "0" which obviously wasn't what it was named before...

    All my save data was still there, along with the channels I downloaded though?

    They did send it to me really quick (I sent it and got it back literally in 5 days)
     
  18. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    They have a habit of replacing old Wii's with new ones just so you lose the benefits of boot2 and/or backup discs.
     
  19. Aijelsop
    OP

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    Oh wow... >.
     

Share This Page