Bootmii Backup Error

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by LufianGuy, Aug 4, 2009.

Aug 4, 2009

Bootmii Backup Error by LufianGuy at 12:36 AM (1,599 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. LufianGuy
    OP

    Member LufianGuy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Country:
    United States
    This is my 2nd Bootmii (IOS >.
     
  2. LexLuthor

    Member LexLuthor GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hard to tell. I certainly wouldnt trust restoring from it.
    Why not try again and see if you get a different result.
     
  3. oxMUDxo

    Member oxMUDxo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Missouri - USA
    Country:
    United States
    There's nothing wrong with BootMii or Pre-Loader.

    You have a SD Card that BootMii doesn't like.

    My friend has the same problem with his 2GB Kingston SD Card.
    The NAND is more than likely Bad and I strongly suggest never using it!

    If you have another SD Card I would try using it.

    I have a 1GB SanDisk and it works grate when getting a Nand back up.
     
  4. LufianGuy
    OP

    Member LufianGuy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Country:
    United States
    I don't see why the card should be an issue when it managed to perform a backup properly before and it is confirmed working on the bootmii sd card compatibility list : http://wiibrew.org/wiki/BootMii_SD_Card_Compatibility_List

    I'm going to try again in an hour or so. I might also redo hackmii and prepare the sd card again.
     
  5. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I recommend using official stuff because it seems to work for everything, its worth the extra money I found. I have never had an issue with an official 2 or 1 gig official Nintendo San Disk card and its still like 10-20 bucks.
     
  6. LexLuthor

    Member LexLuthor GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I dont see why you wouldnt just try again right away. If its worked before there should be no problem.
     
  7. LufianGuy
    OP

    Member LufianGuy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Country:
    United States
    Its hooked up to a shared TV [​IMG]
     
  8. oxMUDxo

    Member oxMUDxo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Missouri - USA
    Country:
    United States
    I'm 99.9% sure it's the SD Card.
    It might need formatting but nothing I tried with my friends 2GB King Stink SD Card ever worked.
    I think BootMii hates them..?

    Anyway best of luck.
    Let us know what happens.

    If you get it working I would like to know how.
     
  9. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
  10. oxMUDxo

    Member oxMUDxo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Missouri - USA
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I saw that...I hate to be wrong, if he gets his working what can I say...?

    All I know is the Kingston I used gave me a ton of errors when verifying the Nand.
    May be all these errors mean nothing and the Nand works but it makes me not want to try it.

    When Wad Manger gets the Nand emulation working I might test it then.[​IMG]

    Good Luck
    LufianGuy.
     
  11. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I prefer official cards definitely. I have 2 of them and yeah, its most definitely worth it.
     
  12. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Oh and is there a nand emulation tool that won't restore the nand? Because if so, you got a great way to test it.

    EDIT: Apparently Wad Manager 1.5 can do it from what I've read, so it should be a good way to test it.
     
  13. LufianGuy
    OP

    Member LufianGuy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks guys, will experiment when the time presents itself.

    Which will probably be tomorrow.
     
  14. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds good, and good luck [​IMG]
     
  15. LufianGuy
    OP

    Member LufianGuy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Country:
    United States
    Okay the time came.

    Results (errors still):
    Tried to do another backup twice, both times had the same error while verifying.

    Deleted the bootmii files off the sd and used hackmii beta2 to prepare it, tried three times, same error.

    Thoughts:
    Interesting that a card that was working before and is on the wiki as working, has stopped working.

    I read in a bug posting for bootmii where after using waninkoko's 4.0 updater (as I did), another person's card did the same thing.

    Questions:
    1. Could it be that I need to reinstall bootmii?

    I have a friend who works at gamestop, will see if he can get me a sandisk for wii SD 1GB cheap to try out. It worked on his wii (boot2 lucky mofo) when I did it for him at his house.
     
  16. oxMUDxo

    Member oxMUDxo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Missouri - USA
    Country:
    United States
    I know, I cant believe the Card is on there as working.
    I tried a few things and I could never get my friends 2 GB Kingston working.

    You wont have a problem with a SanDisk SD Card they are some of the best.
    Wal-Mart or Best Buy might be a better place to get that SD Card tho, if they still sell 1GB Cards..?
    GameSpot is always crazy when it comes to prices on stuff like that..

    There's no need to reinstall BootMii I know for sure or at least 99.9% it is the SD Card..

    Sorry to hear it's not working tho..
     
  17. LufianGuy
    OP

    Member LufianGuy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for caring [​IMG]
     
  18. LufianGuy
    OP

    Member LufianGuy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Country:
    United States
    YAY!!! The Sandisk 1GB "For Wii" SD Card (bought at gamestop, made in china) worked perfectly to make the backup.

    Now I have a backup at 3.3U and a backup at 4.0U with everything!

    Thanks for the help everyone!
     
  19. oxMUDxo

    Member oxMUDxo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Missouri - USA
    Country:
    United States
    Glad everything is working now.. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page