Booting to DS menu without taking out flash cart...

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by R2DJ, Jun 8, 2008.

Jun 8, 2008
  1. R2DJ
    OP

    Member R2DJ GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,900
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When I watched a video about a flash cart (it's in the reviews somewhere)...I saw in it a file named "DS_BOOT.nds" I'm pretty sure it's for going to the DS Menu.
     


  2. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Was there a question in there somewhere?

    If you're looking for such a program (that will return you to the NDS menu), Yasu has a program called "back2fw.nds" that will do so. The problem is that you can't get back to the flash cart menu from the NDS menu with most carts, but it's still useful to accept a download play, change settings, etc.

    -Bri
     
  3. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
    If you hold start once you power on it wont auto-boot.
     
  4. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    YSMenu has that feature, you press start and click DS Menu or Select

    Tried that with my DSTT, didn't work

    eDIT:
    according to your sig, you use DSTT, so YSMenu works for that
     
  5. Doomsday Forte

    Member Doomsday Forte GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,272
    Country:
    United States
    I know this doesn't help (then why post, right?), but I flashed my system with FlashMe Stealth, and I just have to hold select as the system powers on and it'll go to the DS Menu instead of autoloading the flashcart. I would assume that the slot-1 devices would have such a feature, though I guess it's not really a big pain to just pop the cart out a little so it doesn't read.
     
  6. .::5pYd3r::.

    Member .::5pYd3r::. Viva La Pizza

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    The GREAT Southern Land :D
    Country:
    Australia
    With an R4 that is impossible.
     
  7. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
  8. dogman

    Member dogman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    Country:
    Chile
  9. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    @farfet: Yasu doesn't want you to post links except to his home page (http://home.usay.jp). You can post directions on how to get back2fw from the home page though: Click on "ETC" at the top. Click on "NintendoDS" in the table. Click the "in english" link near the top of the page under the first paragraph. About halfway down the page it will say "back2fw(2008/03/27)". Click that link to download the latest version.

    @ferrariman: Yasu's back2fw is preferable to firmware.nds because it actually runs the native firmware that is on your NDS. The firmware.nds file is actually a dump of the firmware from a DS Phat, so you can't change the backlight levels on a DS Lite, and back2fw is also much smaller since it doesn't contain any actual firmware.

    BTW, back2fw is actually a standalone version of the code that is built into YSMenu in case anyone wondered.

    -Bri
     
  10. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    Too bad it doesn't support flashme...
     
  11. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    I think Yasu is working on that. He was also going to work on allowing carts that can boot from the NDS menu like the Acekard 2 to boot back to the flash cart menu after using back2fw.

    -Bri
     
  12. ben_not_benny

    Member ben_not_benny GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Wow, back2fw is a great program!
     
  13. Searinox

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    Great Scott! This sounds useful. Lemme get this straight - I have a flashed DS, can I run firmware.nds?(instead of back2fw) I cannot test it right now since my DS is bork. Changing backlight won't work but editing the other fw options(name, time, date) will?
     
  14. Eternal Myst

    Member Eternal Myst Back from the Myst.

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Location:
    I have a bomb alallalallala
    Country:
    United States
    Does this program work on the CycloDS?
     
  15. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    back2fw should work with any flash cart, I believe.

    -Bri
     
  16. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    Bri got here before me xD but still , it worked with my SuperCard, DSTT firmware and even Yasu's actual firmware xD
     
  17. Searinox

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    Guuuys what about Firmware.nds which is an actual DUMP of the whole fw? Will that work with a flashed DS? And if so, what can/can't it change in the system settings?
     
  18. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    It works, I use it.
     
  19. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    It's a dump of the Phat firmware, which means that it can't change brightness. I think that may be the only limitation. I don't know if it works on a flashed DS though.

    -Bri
     
  20. Searinox

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    THANK YOU guys! Now I'll NEVER ever need to take my flashcart out again. 8D Phat eh? Is there anywhere I can get a dump of the Lite or FlashMe firmwares?
     

Share This Page