Booting gamecube backups from dvd or usb

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by thestudent, Aug 22, 2009.

Aug 22, 2009
  1. thestudent
    OP

    Newcomer thestudent Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys i got a softmodded wii with neogamma 7 installed and csios installed all my wii games play fine but my son is wanting to play a gamecube backup its in .gmc format i burnt it with image burn on a dvd-r (same disk i use for wii games) and i get a green screen for a second with neo gamma then the wii reboots to the preloader screen i have a gamecube controller but it wasnt plugged up at the time any help would be great the game is super mario sunshine . thanks in advance .
     
  2. s3phir0th115

    Member s3phir0th115 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    700
    Country:
    United States
    Well, for one, you can't currently play gamecube backups from USB. Only from DVD copies.

    And also, you aren't using the appropriate loader. To play gamecube copies with a softmod, you need to install the cMIOS, and use an appropriate gamecube loader. The cMIOS is able to implement the loader into the disc channel to simply the process.

    So try installing the right software and see how it goes.
     
  3. lostdwarf

    Member lostdwarf GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    nicksasa has just released tools to emulate wii nand onto usb or sd so this might be possible now, check out first page of wii hacking forum






    this reply written via DSi
     
  4. Tagg7

    Member Tagg7 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    United States
    ^The NAND has nothing to do with playing Gamecube games.
     
  5. Ossot

    Member Ossot GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Country:
    United States
    i haven't been keeping up with the scene, and I may be dense, but where's this thread you're referring to? Or just the app?
     
  6. thestudent
    OP

    Newcomer thestudent Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States
    i found the info mentioned in the first response works fine now . i guess all i needed was the right software as mentioned .
     

Share This Page