Boot9strap updated to 1.4

After 5 years a new update for Boot9strap is available. This is what allows Boot9/Boot11 code execution on your 3DS so we are able to run unsigned code. You are able to update it with SafeB9SInstaller, with instructions below. Maybe in the eyes of Nintendo the 3DS is dead, it shows that its still alive in the homebrew community's eyes.

https://github.com/SciresM/boot9strap/releases

Boot9strap2.png


what got updated:-
Boot9/Boot11 code execution.

  • Boots around 0.25s to 0.4s faster
  • Size halved, now under 16KB
  • If the ntrboot combo (X+Start+Select) is held, or if either FIRM file is corrupt, the notification LEDwill display the following:
    • SD FIRM successfully loaded: green
    • SD FIRM missing, CTRNAND FIRM successfully loaded: yellow
    • SD FIRM corrupt, CTRNAND FIRM successfully loaded: orange
    • SD FIRM missing, CTRNAND FIRM also missing: white
    • SD FIRM missing, CTRNAND FIRM corrupt: magenta
    • SD FIRM corrupt, CTRNAND FIRM also corrupt: red
    • in addition to the above, the LED will blink if it is actually a ntrboot boot
  • Ability to dump boot9/boot11/otp removed (recent Luma commits auto-backup otp.bin anyway). It's also how such improvments could be made in the first place
  • (∩ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)⊃━☆゚

Use SafeB9SInstaller to update it.

https://github.com/d0k3/SafeB9SInstaller/releases

  1. Download boot9strap-1.4.zip and unpack it's content into a folder called boot9strap at the root of your SD card.
  2. Then, put SafeB9SInstaller for your 3DS sd card and unpack SafeB9SInstaller.firm to /luma/payloads/ on your SD card.
  3. When everything's done, boot your console with start, select SafeB9SInstaller.firm and follow the instructions on screen.
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
30,185
Trophies
2
XP
19,838
Country
United States
BTW, I was able to downgrade b9s. I thought that was the problem with the reinstall of fastboot, but I was missing the ofi folder.
 

palyons

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 28, 2006
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
634
Country
United States
Can you boot into godmode or Luma config?
I don't seem to be able to. Also bare in mind, I'm relatively new to 3ds hacking, just hacked it literally the other day. I'm holding down start and power, and also select and power, just a backlit black screen.

Edit: After removing the sd card, I can boot into the 3ds System Menu again just fine. Maybe the latest version broke SD card support somewhere? This is a SanDisk Extreme card
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07H48412Q

Edit 2: Problem solved. Just had to copy over boot.firm and boot.3dsx from Luma3ds zip. Sorry for any confusion, just new to the 3ds hacking scene.
 
Last edited by palyons,
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

nl255

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2004
Messages
2,975
Trophies
0
XP
2,451
Country
I'm an A9LH day 1 loyalist who migrated over to Boot9Strap. What the hell is Fastboot?

Fastboot is kind of like twrp/grub for the 3DS. You can set different .firm payloads to different hotkeys, so for example you can have both stock Luma and the pluginloader fork and choose which one to boot by holding down a certain key when you turn on your 3DS. It can also be used to manually run .firm payloads from almost anywhere on the SD card so if Luma updater ever fails partway through you can boot gm9 and copy a backup of your old Luma .firm over to fix it rather than having to wait until you get home (as even if you have an Android phone/tablet rather than an iDevice modern Android systems will actually refuse to mount a USB device larger than 32GB that is formatted as fat32 so unless you lug a laptop or Rpi around with you).

Of course, it also supports dumping boot9/boot11/otp.
 

Powerful

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2016
Messages
510
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
1,795
Country
United States
Somehow I completely missed everything about Fastboot when that dropped. Considering I haven't been using it and haven't felt like I've been missing out on anything, it probably just makes sense to upgrade my B9S here to get that ever so slightly faster load time.

Edit: just upgraded, man it couldn't be easier or more painless to make such an upgrade now. Anyone remember how stressful and complex first installing Arm9LoaderHax was? We've come a long way lol. Also, the improved load times are definitely noticeable, I mean it's not like anything took too long to begin with, but they still boot up faster all the same, this is a great update!
Same here, I installed A9LH then B9S day one and never knew about fastboot. Not too sure if I should upgrade B9S or fastboot lol
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

tmnr1992

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2016
Messages
238
Trophies
0
XP
1,410
Country
United States
I can't seem to update it, I followed the steps, then when prompted to input the key combo the console went to a black screen for a long time, I tried the troubleshoot section but it still boots to a black screen. If I remove the SD card the console boots to the main menu like normal.

I tried replacing the files for boot9strap and safeb9sinstaller, and apparently the console now boots, but now an orange light turns on for a while on every boot and I cannot get safeb9sinstaller to boot.

[EDIT]
Nevermind, I think the files got corrupted or something the first time, I loaded safeb9sinstaller as a payload through luma and updated without issues.
 
Last edited by tmnr1992,

N7Kopper

Proud lover of a three-inch girlfriend
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2014
Messages
844
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
1,065
Country
United Kingdom
Fastboot or normal b9s is kinda a preference thing. I prefer fastboot myself, more options.
Honestly, fastboot is just better. For the power user (most of us here) it gives you more flexibility. For the random tech illiterate you might do a mod job on behalf of, it's a far more obvious "okay I did something wrong here" when the fastboot splash pops up.
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
30,185
Trophies
2
XP
19,838
Country
United States
Honestly, fastboot is just better. For the power user (most of us here) it gives you more flexibility. For the random tech illiterate you might do a mod job on behalf of, it's a far more obvious "okay I did something wrong here" when the fastboot splash pops up.
I have open_agb_firm assigned to L, since I was trying to go with the rosalina buttons for easy memorization. I did install the new b9s, but I went back to fastboot.
 

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
2,905
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
5,128
Country
United States
I have open_agb_firm assigned to L, since I was trying to go with the rosalina buttons for easy memorization. I did install the new b9s, but I went back to fastboot.
From what I've learned, this seems to be the only good reason to do Fastboot in my opinion, to load open_agb_firm on boot to essentially enter an official GBA player of sorts on launch. I know you can create shorcuts to other firms as well, but that's the only one I think I'd ever get much use out of in such a way. Otherwise the only alt firm I'm regularly booting on my 3DS at launch is my BAX intro animation, but Fastboot isn't needed for that to autoload before booting into the 3DS proper.
 
Last edited by MikaDubbz,

face235

GBATemp's Official Lurker
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2017
Messages
218
Trophies
0
Age
39
Location
Beyond the 4th Wall
XP
916
Country
United States
I'm probably in the same boat as ya'll are. I arrived in the 3DS hacking scene near the tail end of RxTools. I switched to A9LH, and then made the switch over to B9S. Granted, it's been years since I done it. Looks like it's time for me to dust off the old O3DSXL and give it some serious updating. I missed Fastboot completely, so there is that.
 

codezer0

Gaming keeps me sane
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
3,254
Trophies
1
Location
The Magic School Bus
XP
3,371
Country
United States
Okay, so I have safeb9s, and naturally had to at least try it from the homebrew channel. but just seems to start, black screen for a few moments and then seemingly just return back to the regular menu. how can I tell if it actually took?
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
30,185
Trophies
2
XP
19,838
Country
United States
Okay, so I have safeb9s, and naturally had to at least try it from the homebrew channel. but just seems to start, black screen for a few moments and then seemingly just return back to the regular menu. how can I tell if it actually took?
a screen should appear, followed by a button combo press, then success. the system should then restart.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    they're flying to bermuda for the 4th dahling
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Damn mexicans, their 4th of July will be baseball and tacos
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Or Florida psi will have a field day
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    More old people for him to run over
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    i was worried about the mexicans at first, got a lot of em all at once, but turns out they're cool
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Mexican people are more generally respectable than people born here
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    yeah most of my most trusted folks are from down there
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    great family attitude, and they'll fuckin feed your ass
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    It was fun working with them most the time wed play with medical equipment when I did janitorial at the hospital
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    It's a miracle that mexicans seem to have good food, because spanish food is
    garbage
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    lol
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    cmon it can't be that bad can it
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Taco bell is Mexican foodz
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Ran by white people
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    #BringBackMexicanPizza
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    we sell mediterranean food at my joint but all the cooks are mexican
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Maybe I haven't eaten proper spanish food yet, but I tried paella and tortilla and never again
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    and awesome, masters of the culinary arts, they can make good stuff outta next to nothing, it's amazing
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Crema catalana is a very tasty dessert, I dare say
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    well i think southern desserts are very special, quite fond of banana puddin
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    and chocolate eclair pie, and anniversary cake, shit makes you fat in minutes tho
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Banana pudding looks good, it reminds me of tiramisu and bolo de bolacha
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    tiramisu rocks
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I'm out of ranch D:
    Gift
  • Gift
    DEMONGreninjaPG @ DEMONGreninjaPG: @NeoGaming chats dead