Boot Roms With Menudo using R4iRTS(all made by M3 team)

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by ninjaapple, Oct 7, 2011.

  1. ninjaapple
    OP

    Newcomer ninjaapple Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    I have successfully and without much work found a way to boot roms with menudo on r4i rts thanks to gaboros(YSM3 and WoodR4 for M3) and soulanger(menudo) [​IMG] .

    I know all the hype about menudo not being made for boot roms bla bla so don't be telling me about that and booting roms is actually what people wanted in the first place. Just giving them what they want.

    [​IMG]
    You can boot the roms either with WoodR4 for M3 but of course you would have the low(or lower) rom compatibility of WoodR4 1.25 as you mentioned in your thread.
    OR
    More preferably you can use YSM3 to boot the rom.

    It is probably worth mentioning I only tested this with the "generic" version of Menudo.

    Link to WoodR4 for M3 and YSM3 :files
    Link to Menudo:files
    Please use the generic version.

    Instructions for using YSM3(pretty straightforward noob style):
    Install YSM3 on flashcart. Rename YSM3.nds to YSMenu.nds
    Install generic version of menudo.
    Go to /_menudo/donors/and change the name of or delete nds.ini and rename nds.ysmenu.ini to nds.ini.
    Save
    DONE!

    May work on M3.

    Instructions for WoodR4:
    Install "generic" version of menudo.
    Install WoodR4 for M3 on flashcart.
    Copy wood_r4_m3.nds to /__rpg/
    Edit woodload.ini and under _R4i=/__rpg/r4idsnloader.nds in another line add "R4iRTS=/__rpg/wood_r4_m3.nds
    Save
    DONE!!

    Have fun!
     
  2. coolness

    Banned coolness PSN: Dutch_DarkLord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Rotterdam Bitches!!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    can you make this for the Acekard 2i or M3 DS Real?
     
  3. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    ._. wut? ...there are default folders on the website that are already made for most flashcarts...
     
  4. ninjaapple
    OP

    Newcomer ninjaapple Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    yes they work but they do not boot roms on the R4iSDHC RTS(r4isdhc.com),R4i RTS(r4rts.com) or other M3 clones. Maybe not even on the M3's themselves. My point is this allows you to boot roms on M3's and M3 clones.

    I believe this works on the M3 DS Real and go http://menudo.yolasite.com/resources/menudo-files/localizations/12311/acekard.zip for the menudo for acekard that allows rom loading.
     
  5. Ron

    Member Ron somehow a weeb now.

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    here
    Country:
    Canada
    What's with all the sudden interest in MENUdo?
     
  6. ninjaapple
    OP

    Newcomer ninjaapple Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    I always wanted to use menudo on my flashcart but between a fancy looking skin,theme,whatever and a normal looking one that actually boot roms was that even a question.
    I just did some playing around and only a few days ago I happened to get it to work(rom loading i mean).
     
  7. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Just kind of putting this out there, but the ysmenu instructions aren't really that hard to figure out (and there should be instructions somewhere IIRC since it IS one of the two main ways people use MENUdo...ysmenu or AKAIO...though the number of those people are so little anyways)...and what you are doing with the M3 wood stuff makes no sense.
    You copied a file over to a folder...and then used an invalid line that isn't even read to reference it.

    The only REAL thing a person needs to do to get ROM loading working is to check the donor file, and make sure that what they are using to boot ROMs has autoboot...Besides that, I could just come up with the instructions: "Put on working backend loader. Configure donor nds.ini file." and that would cover every flashcart that can possibly use MENUdo (yeah, it's that easy to set up...if you had popped into the IRC, I could have told you that in like a minute :/).
     
  8. ninjaapple
    OP

    Newcomer ninjaapple Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    thats true but hey, it works!
     

Share This Page