Boot directly in GBA mode

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by TEKNOSYSTEKWRX, Apr 28, 2007.

Apr 28, 2007
  1. TEKNOSYSTEKWRX
    OP

    Member TEKNOSYSTEKWRX Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    South Florida
    Country:
    United States
    I just got a R4 slot 1 card for my DS game use. I want to still use my EZIV mini-SD for GBA games. But when I choose "Boot Slot-2" on the R4, it boots the EZIV into NDS mode. Is there a way to disable NDS mode so that it goes directly into GBA mode? Can I delete the NDS loader from the firmware somehow?
     
  2. -EX-

    Banned -EX- Racer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    Yes, you're lucky, there's a kernel with deleted NDS mode. Here.

    Copy the ezfla_up.bin file to your card. Hold the R Trigger and turn on your DS. The kernel will be updated.
     
  3. TEKNOSYSTEKWRX
    OP

    Member TEKNOSYSTEKWRX Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    South Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you! Works perfect!
     
  4. TEKNOSYSTEKWRX
    OP

    Member TEKNOSYSTEKWRX Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    South Florida
    Country:
    United States
    I hit one little snag though. How do I skin it now? I've tried using EZSkinner, but it doesn't seem to work with this ezfla_up.bin I guess because there is no NDS folders. How can I manually skin just the GBA side? I really hate the default Darth Vader skin [​IMG]
     
  5. -EX-

    Banned -EX- Racer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    Well, you may try to cut out the gba loader from this kernel in hex, then add it to a normal kernel, skin it, then put it back. I forgot the value where GBA loader ends though, but you may try to look for it on ez forums.
     
  6. -EX-

    Banned -EX- Racer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    Now that I think of it, there should be no problem with skinning in the first place. Make sure the file isn't read only.
     
  7. jono_

    Member jono_ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    334
    Country:
    Australia
    can you boot a G6, directly in GBA?
     
  8. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
  9. KidIce

    Member KidIce Smart Ass

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    935
    Country:
    United States
    Uhm, just select the GBA cart from the DS's menu or take out the R4... Jeeze. [​IMG]
     
  10. TEKNOSYSTEKWRX
    OP

    Member TEKNOSYSTEKWRX Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    South Florida
    Country:
    United States
    The gbaswitch app works good for now until my 3-in-1 cart arrives later this week.
     

Share This Page