Boot channels from the Homebrew Channel?

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by raptir, May 13, 2009.

May 13, 2009
  1. raptir
    OP

    Member raptir GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    United States
    I recently started using the USB Loader, and I threw Preloader on my Wii and have it set to boot to the HBC by default. I love this for both the USB loader as well as my emulators, since I can use a Gamecube controller to navigate to the emulator. Is there a way to boot channels (specifically the disc channel, maybe WiiWare if possible) from the Homebrew Channel? I'd love to be able to boot GCN games with just a GCN controller.
     
  2. ddp127

    Member ddp127 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    449
    Country:
    Netherlands
  3. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well, with carzy intro and preloader, you can set it up so that when you turn on the wii, a screen will appear and then you press A to go to system menu, B to go to HBC, or any of the directions on the D Pad to go to user defined channels. dunno if that would help, and i think you may need to use wiimote for selecting what to boot...
     
  4. raptir
    OP

    Member raptir GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    United States
    Alright. Out of curiosity, is there any downside to booting everything through Gecko OS? It seems to do what I'd like it to...
     
  5. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    dont think so, but it does give you region free, which is an upside [​IMG]
     
  6. ddp127

    Member ddp127 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    449
    Country:
    Netherlands
    as i already said, wiimu can launch wii games, gamecube games, and channels...

    there is also the libwiigameload demo somewhere, i forgot where, but i launches games...
     
  7. SpAM_CAN

    Member SpAM_CAN GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    We need a WiiMU GUI...
     
  8. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    now you could install bootmii, and then when you start the wii you get a sexy gui where you can select either system menu or hbc and get brick protection as a little bonus. you even navigate the bootmii gui with a gc controller, so you can get to your emus without need for wiimote. so with bootmii, just start the wii and select system menu if you want channels, or HBC if you want homebrew
     

Share This Page