Boom Blox question

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by naraku000, Jun 3, 2008.

Jun 3, 2008

Boom Blox question by naraku000 at 9:37 AM (1,579 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. naraku000
    OP

    Newcomer naraku000 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I got a US Wii with the latest firmware 3.20U. I got a bootleg DVD of the game (from some chinese mall) with no way of knowing what version, etc, the game is. Although the printed cover says that it is the US version.

    I tried inserting the game in my Wii and a system update notice comes up. Now, is this a sure sign that this game is not US version of the game ? what can I do?

    ty
     
  2. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    A modded wii will run any region game and display the update.
    Use imgburn to create an iso from your disc. Then open that file in RegionFrii, it will tell you the region of the iso
     
  3. naraku000
    OP

    Newcomer naraku000 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    so if it's a EU it'll brick my Wii if I update it ?

    for some reason my dvd-rw (laptop, desktop, other laptop) can't seem to read these discs. the bottom of the dvd is weird kind of yellow...must be some copy protection of...bootlegs. maybe it's calibrated so only the wii can read it...
     
  4. aligborat69

    Member aligborat69 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    498
    Country:
    You could always get the USA Freeloader image, burn that, then run that before the game, which will disable the update.
     
  5. naraku000
    OP

    Newcomer naraku000 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I used usbgecko region free (came with homebrew channel)...load the game from there, it works. a bit of a hassle, guess good thing the game isn't so hot.
     
  6. elektrixxx

    Newcomer elektrixxx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    Australia
    I wish developers would actually make the game fill the entire screen instead of leaving black borders all around.
     
  7. JKR Firefox

    Member JKR Firefox Back.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    No black borders on the version I'm playing...
     
  8. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    it is not a "bootleg" it's an illegally pressed copy. Update your wii online to the latest update then it will not ask for an update.
    And it's actually a pretty cool game
     
  9. naraku000
    OP

    Newcomer naraku000 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States

    my fw is 3.20U which is the VERY latest offered via online update. It actually says there's no higher firmware...the game might have a higher version...but why not offer it via online update.

    na i won't update.
     
  10. Nintendokid54

    Newcomer Nintendokid54 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    funny... i don't have that... mine is in widescreen...check your setting on your wii...
     
  11. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Some games have a small update specific to that or a few games. It won't change the version number. Whatever your firmware is, you need to install that update.
     

Share This Page