Bomberman Blast problem?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by priapism, Sep 15, 2008.

Sep 15, 2008

Bomberman Blast problem? by priapism at 10:39 PM (4,534 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. priapism
    OP

    Member priapism GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    United States
    i got a "region free" version of the Bomberman Blast wad but when i try to play it on my NTSC Wii it doesn't work. the Bomberman Blast channel is there and it loads the correct background but when i click the start button the screen goes black and never returns. was this a bad dump or is there something different about this game?

    is anyone currently playing the english language version of this game on an NTSC Wii?
     
  2. dazz159

    Newcomer dazz159 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    U might need to change the video mode to NTSC for it to work, but it might also be summat else
     
  3. JimmyBobAlex

    Member JimmyBobAlex GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    Was it really necessary to make the exact same post you made in the PAL releases thread not 5 minutes ago into a thread by itself? You couldnt' fucking wait a few minutes for someone to answer you? This question was answered in the other release thread btw, search more. I guess someone will have to hand feed you information like a little baby.

    It works on NTSC only in 480p mode after converting the wad video mode using Wani's Video Mode Changer.
     
  4. priapism
    OP

    Member priapism GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    United States
    chill out, dude. the second to last post in that Wiiware release thread was from August so i figured i would just start a new topic to get a faster response. i am sorry that you care so much. it is kind of sad really.

    thanks for the help though.
     
  5. Shadowluigi323

    Newcomer Shadowluigi323 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    sooo how do i do this i want to play bomberman blast on a NTSC wii but don't have a mod chip how can i do this?
     
  6. JimmyBobAlex

    Member JimmyBobAlex GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    Refer to my post I just made in the WiiWare Releases thread.

    While I'm here maybe someone can shed some light on this.

    These are the original modes in bomberman blast

    1. PAL (progressive) Resolution: 640x528
    2. PAL (progressive) Resolution: 640x528
    3. PAL (progressive) Resolution: 640x264
    4. NTSC (interlaced) (a.k.a. NTSC 480i) Resolution: 640x480
    5. MPAL (interlaced) Resolution: 640x480
    6. PAL (interlaced) (a.k.a. PAL 576i) Resolution: 640x528
    7. PAL60 (interlaced) (a.k.a. PAL 480i) Resolution: 640x480
    8. PAL60 (progressive) (a.k.a. PAL 480p) Resolution: 640x480

    Using the Video Mode Changer smart patcher PAL -> NTSC changes it to this

    1. PAL (progressive) Resolution: 640x528
    2. PAL (progressive) Resolution: 640x528
    3. PAL (progressive) Resolution: 640x264
    4. NTSC (interlaced) (a.k.a. NTSC 480i) Resolution: 640x480
    5. MPAL (interlaced) Resolution: 640x480
    6. MPAL (interlaced) Resolution: 640x480
    7. NTSC (interlaced) (a.k.a. NTSC 480i) Resolution: 640x480
    8. NTSC (progressive) (a.k.a. NTSC 480p) Resolution: 640x480

    480i still flickers and I'm not really sure why. Even when you change every mode to ntsc 480i it still does it, like somehow it's still display a pal mode. Anyone have any idea why? Why would 480p work ok and not 480i?
     
  7. Bryan_

    Newcomer Bryan_ Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone resolved this yet? I've tried everything and it still flickers for me as well. Sorry for necroposting!
     
  8. justmike

    Member justmike GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    329
    Country:
    Australia
  9. justmike

    Member justmike GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    329
    Country:
    Australia
    The thread above works like a charm.

    Just a few notes, when you make the key, rename key.bin to common-key.bin.

    Also, when the program asks you in "Choose Video Patching Method", make sure you choose the "Smart" option and (for PAL) pick the "NTSC - PAL" option.

    Finally got it to work and nothing is wrong with the picture quality. I just played online too.

    I hope this helps!!
     

Share This Page