blurry nintendo logo at gba start up

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by djjomon, Aug 21, 2008.

Aug 21, 2008
  1. djjomon
    OP

    Newcomer djjomon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States
    i just started using my edge and EZ V 3in1 today so im not completely familiar with how it works yet.

    ive been playing a rom on my computer for a while, a pokemon fire red hack. after getting the gba exploader onto my edge along with the .gba file i tried playing it. two folders were made GBA_SAVE and GBA_SIGN. i moved the .sav to GBA_SAVE and found that it comes up when choosing the game. after the loading to RAM bar fills up i get the usual gba screen, except the nintendo logo is blurry and i cant actually play the game.

    any suggestions?
     
  2. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    patch the rom header (fix header) with gbata rom tool [​IMG]
     
  3. djjomon
    OP

    Newcomer djjomon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States
    not sure how to do that but ill try to figure it out. i do have gbata at least

    edit: yea, no idea how to patch it
     
  4. djjomon
    OP

    Newcomer djjomon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States
    ok i fixed the header and patched the SRAM while i was at it. still doesnt work

    edit: i was doing it wrong, i got it to work. now to get my save file to load.
     
  5. djjomon
    OP

    Newcomer djjomon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States
    one problem seems to lead to another. the game finally loads, but even though it sees my save file under the SRAM menus when i start the game it goes straight to a new game. ill play around and see what happens
     
  6. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you just dragging and dropping the save file your emulator uses? Some emulators have an option to export a save file back to it's original format (in VBA, load FireRed, then go to File>export>battery file), so give that a try if you haven't already.
     
  7. djjomon
    OP

    Newcomer djjomon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States
    i have no$gba and i cant figure out how to export the save with it
     
  8. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah, looks like it's fiddly but possible. Follow these instructions, except for Ruby you need to set the GBA save type to Flash128K in step 3, then keep going up to the end of step 4 (the file chucked out by this VBA converter should be okay for a flashcart too. Possibly.).
     
  9. djjomon
    OP

    Newcomer djjomon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States
    OMG it worked! i doubted that it would work b/c im using a flashcart and not VBA but i tried it anyway. thank you so much psyfira! (sorry if i sound like a clueless noob, altho i kinda am one). now to make sure it saves to SRAM, id rather not use NOR.

    edit: meh NOR is good enough for me until i get better with this

    edit2: i figured out how to get it keep my save on SRAM [​IMG]
     

Share This Page