blargSNES 1.4 released

AmandaRose

Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2015
Messages
9,421
Trophies
1
Location
Glasgow
Website
www.rockstarnorth.com
XP
13,625
Country
United Kingdom
I can look into it, sure. What's the game supposed to do/look like, though? I don't know what it's meant to be like.
In the video above by @Trevor_2012 it looks like the top screen of the game is not working at all and in the bottom screen when the car is going around the corner there is a load of dots on the track that should not be there. Here is how the game should look like.
 

Arisotura

rise of melonism
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2009
Messages
839
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
center of the Sun
Website
kuribo64.net
XP
2,451
Country
France
o, thanks!

As for the compatibility list, I found there's one but it covers the older 1.3 versions: https://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/BlargSnes_Compatibility_List


EDIT- I looked quickly at the Top Gear issue. It seems fixable but I'll have to give it a try tomorrow. It modifies the OAM midframe (the black bar midframe is a forced-blank period), but there are two issues:

1. the forced-blank flag is cleared on the same scanline as it is set, likely because the OAM DMA runs instantly instead of taking time as it should

2. the hardware renderer fails to notice the midframe forced-blank period due to that, and tries to render the whole screen at once using the latest OAM (which isn't right for the top part of the screen, hence the bug).


EDIT2- the sprites are quickly fixed, however there are still glitches like HUD elements that don't update properly. It seems the game is also updating VRAM midframe, and that's going to be particularly tricky given the way the renderer works.

EDIT3- this game seems to be particularly evil with the midframe VRAM changes or something of that sort. I'm trying some things but it's being pretty slow. This will probably be one of the games that are best played with the software renderer, atleast for now.
 
Last edited by Arisotura,
  • Like
Reactions: RocketRobz

raxadian

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2018
Messages
3,540
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
3,405
Country
Argentina
What's the compatibility of this emulator? What performance can we expect for now? I can try this with some Mega Man games and see how

In order: A lot of games boot and play well.

Sound has problems in the HD versions of the 3DS and 2DS.

Snes9x for 3DS does not have the sound problems.

Edit2: Works fine on the old3DS and the 2DS.
 
Last edited by raxadian,

raxadian

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2018
Messages
3,540
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
3,405
Country
Argentina
To clarify; this works perfectly fine on the Old 3DS and the 2DS; but sound gets screwed in the New Nintendo 2DS XL and New Nintendo 3DS, the HD models because is different enough hardware. I think is because they have more Ram and faster CPU so that speeds up the sound?
 

hobbledehoy899

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2015
Messages
2,860
Trophies
1
XP
2,086
Country
Antarctica
To clarify; this works perfectly fine on the Old 3DS and the 2DS; but sound gets screwed in the New Nintendo 2DS XL and New Nintendo 3DS, the HD models because is different enough hardware. I think is because they have more Ram and faster CPU so that speeds up the sound?
I'm pretty sure that issue would go away with a proper .cia build (not just redirected)
 

raxadian

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2018
Messages
3,540
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
3,405
Country
Argentina
I'm pretty sure that issue would go away with a proper .cia build (not just redirected)

It works fine on the old 3DS and the 2DS, so I think it is the code not taking into account there is more ram and a faster CPU. I will try the non cia version later just in case.
 

hobbledehoy899

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2015
Messages
2,860
Trophies
1
XP
2,086
Country
Antarctica
It works fine on the old 3DS and the 2DS, so I think it is the code not taking into account there is more ram and a faster CPU. I will try the non cia version later just in case.
To quote the blargSNES website directly (relevant part bolded by me)

"Due to technical limitations, if you use blargSnes.3ds on a Gateway, or Ninjhax on a New 3DS, sound output is not possible yet. This will change in the future."
 

raxadian

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2018
Messages
3,540
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
3,405
Country
Argentina
To quote the blargSNES website directly (relevant part bolded by me)

"Due to technical limitations, if you use blargSnes.3ds on a Gateway, or Ninjhax on a New 3DS, sound output is not possible yet. This will change in the future."

Should be changed to "sound outpout is garbled." that's an improvement at least. And nope is not the cia fault, just checked.

A shame, is really better to play Snes games on a bigger screen, guess I will just have to keep using snes9x that with frameskip set to zero and Europe roms works fantastic on the New 3DS/2DS.
 

Arisotura

rise of melonism
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2009
Messages
839
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
center of the Sun
Website
kuribo64.net
XP
2,451
Country
France
The info on the blargSNES website is largely outdated, so don't trust it.

blargSNES does take into account the faster speed of New3DS/etc models. But I don't think there's any adjustment in the audio section of the code, so maybe that part is running faster than expected and that causes issues. I can look into it, maybe make up theories as to why the issue happens, but I don't have a New3DS, so I'll need someone to assist with testing and fixing this bug.
 

zbash92

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 2, 2022
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
NB
XP
32
Country
Canada
I will mostly just need help with testing builds whenever I get around to trying to fix this.
I can test as well.

I tried Mega Man X on N2DS and there's no sound at all. Tried both 3dsx and cia converted version.

What were the games that have garbled sound output on N3DS? I'm interested in testing as well.
 
  • Like
Reactions: hobbledehoy899

Trevor_2012

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 28, 2012
Messages
13
Trophies
0
XP
147
Country
Brazil
Thanks for the work Arisotura !

If the Top Gear was close to the CATFC emulator of the super card, it would be perfect.



CATFC Super card DStwo:
Snes9x:


 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Boobs in iMax
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I would watch that....
    Gift
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    You say that but isn't imax just high rest?
    Gift
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    Tits in high res, along with many the actresses having them, do not look so great
    +1
    Gift
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    It was a noted problem even in the shift to HD according to various purveyors of such films
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    The more resolution, the better
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    And framerate. I know people are against a framerate above 24fps in movies, because it betrays that it's fictional, but I prefer high framerate
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Of course, higher resolution only betrays the false boobs - which could lead to a revolution in the acceptance of the unadulterated bodies
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    I know this falls somewhat into the realm of porn - but I'm encompassing the overarching scope of all movies
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Got free food cause they messed up the order
    +1
    Gift
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    Always found that bizarre in the US
    Gift
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    One time was there and they had forgotten to get it out of the freezer. Manager came over, said that and gave it to us for free still frozen to take home and eat later
    Gift
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    In the UK they would be all nah mate we don't have it, do you want something else?
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Well in some places we aren't total dicks to each other
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Order gets messed up they make up for it without fuss
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    I found a great subreddit for memes yesterday... and I forgot the name
    Gift
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    great subreddit? Is that not a contradiction in terms? Bit like pleasant twitter conversation.
    Gift
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    Anyway shilling my own threads. Lord of the Rings (and various related properties) bought by Embracer group
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    I don't look for intellectual plenitude on the internet...
    Gift
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    Pity. There is plenty of it.
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Mostly it seems literate people on the internet....
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    The pain on the planes, comes mostly from the stains?
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    The rain in Spain stays mainly in the plain
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Moses supposes all toeses are roses, Moses supposes erroneously
    +1
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    The chains in bed frames causing mostly pains
    Gift
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: The chains in bed frames causing mostly pains