Black screens not just limited to the backup loader?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Zerxer, Oct 3, 2008.

  1. Zerxer
    OP

    Member Zerxer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone else experienced black screens anywhere (other than the backup loader with certain games) after installing all the needed items for it? I thought it was weird that the backup loader would sometimes load a game for me but then the next time it'd be a black screen with the Wii completely frozen (have to hold in the power button). Why would it work sometimes and not the other?

    So the other day I tried going into my Wii settings since I took my Wii out in the living room, I wanted to quickly change my widescreen and sensor bar location settings. When I tried to get into the settings, the screen went completely black just like the loader would and I couldn't do anything; had to shut the Wii off manually. I got kinda scared at first, thought some files messed it up, but the next time I tried it loaded fine, so I didn't think much of it.

    I just now got done playing a Zelda: Ocarina of Time WAD file, but not because I was actually *done* playing. I got killed right after entering the deku tree's mouth and it asked if I wanted to save so I hit Yes and then it asked if I wanted to continue and again I chose Yes. Right after that, the screen went completely black with the Wii completely locked up. Had to manually shut it off once more.

    So the cIOS and dvdx stuff that we have to install for the backup loader, can it cause issues like this? I've never had a black screen problem before it and we all know the black screens are very common with the backup loader but why are they now showing up elsewhere?

    NTSC-U Wii with 3.3U, before anyone asks for whatever reason. Nothing other than the above mentioned stuff and the homebrew channel are installed (other than some other VC wads).

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Zerxer
    OP

    Member Zerxer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    No one else is having any other problems?
     
  3. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Same Wii doing funny stuff sometimes too, on the homebrew channel kinda do a little jumps, and the music over the main page of the Wii sometimes get to loud for a few seconds and then go back to normal, I believe it is the cIOS cause non of this happens before
     
  4. Zerxer
    OP

    Member Zerxer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Well I went ahead and ordered a modchip last night so once that gets here I am going to uninstall all the backup loader stuff. Hopefully it doesn't leave any of its changes in anywhere and everything goes back to how it was.
     
  5. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    had the same problem with my first wii, but without installing stuff, it just happens from time to time, dunno what the problem might be...
     
  6. Zeek03

    Member Zeek03 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Never had this problem. Try Uninstalling the software and then reinstall.
     
  7. daytonajesse

    Banned daytonajesse Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Canada
    only thing I have noticed so far is with the sound. When the wii menu first shows up after a reboot, the initial loud spot of music does not blend properly into the main theme. This does not happen every time.
     

Share This Page