Black Screen with Punch Out

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Vato, May 29, 2009.

May 29, 2009

Black Screen with Punch Out by Vato at 2:20 AM (2,679 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. Vato
    OP

    Newcomer Vato Newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    I got a Wasabi Zero chipset in my wii and i get a black screen when trying to play Punch Out NTSC version can anyone help me with this issue....
     
  2. chaotic15

    Newcomer chaotic15 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    what region wii and what firmwear
     
  3. elmachin

    Newcomer elmachin Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United States
    probably same as the other topics here. missing ios38 53 and 55
     
  4. Vato
    OP

    Newcomer Vato Newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    It's an NTSC wii with wasabi firmware 1.4.....


    Posts merged

    I'm not running softmods on it don't have Homebrew channel installed...
     
  5. chaotic15

    Newcomer chaotic15 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    update to 3.2u but make sure u use softmii and use starfall to block automatic updates and all that. then it should work because mine works perfectly fine.
     
  6. djricekcn

    Member djricekcn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    Couldn't remember my email or username so made a new account...sorry to make this my first post.

    I am using USB Loader GX Rev 425
    I have a Japanese Wii with 4.0J, already soft modded
    I do have ios 38 ios 53 and ios55 installed, among the previous two before it (which I can't remember the numbers at the moment)
    I copied Punch Out from a retail copy that my brother bought and still has.

    Well, no matter what I try I can't get past the Black Screen where the controller also shuts off but the Wii is on. Are there any other suggestions besides ios 38, 53, 55 (since I have those)

    FYI: I am able to play those Gamecube games ported for Wii on the USB Loader, if it makes a difference
     
  7. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    People with japanese Wiis should try SoftChip r98 with Country String Patching enabled. (
     
  8. djricekcn

    Member djricekcn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
     
  9. TeenTin

    Member TeenTin GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,217
    Country:
    Hong Kong
     
  10. djricekcn

    Member djricekcn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
     
  11. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    If you need any of these IOS for a game, IT IS ALWAYS ON THE DISC. You can get it off the disc with either wufe with your Wii directly or with Trucha Signer or WiiScrbber.
     
  12. TeenTin

    Member TeenTin GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,217
    Country:
    Hong Kong
     
  13. djricekcn

    Member djricekcn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    Not necessarily Punch Out, but I'm getting the same Black Screen result with Takt of Magic
     
  14. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    a "free-the-bug" IOS is a patched IOS to contain the trucha bug. For IOS37 and up there are no versions with the bug

    Takt of Magic seems to have anouter issue. Installing cioscorp and playing from the disc channel works in japanese Wiis. Maybe it works on non japanese Wiis too, but it seems that it requires being launched from the disc channel.
     
  15. Bloodlust

    Member Bloodlust GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,054
    Country:
    Hong Kong
     
  16. djricekcn

    Member djricekcn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States

    thanks for the update. continued question though.

    where can i get AnyRegionChanger's XML? I tried wiibrew page and google but none of them have the meta.xml or w/e, which I think is the reason why it's not picking up on the homebrew channel. Also, the Wiibrew page said "If you change the GAME ("Game Region") settings, you may no longer be able to boot discs! Make sure you have the Homebrew Channel installed so you can change it back!" What can this mean? Does this mean if I change the region at all, my physical retail (J games for J Wii) discs won't work on the machine ever or does it mean that I need to change the region back to what it was for the discs to work? I can take it in at least two different meaning
     
  17. xxRAG3

    Member xxRAG3 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Country:
    United States
    Just a fellow temper, I had the same problem. Make sure if you think you already have the IOSes and they still don't work (they should popup in the ANYTITLE Deleter) then reinstall the mods anyways.
     

Share This Page