Black screen when i start the wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by maxpouliot, Jul 8, 2009.

Jul 8, 2009
  1. maxpouliot
    OP

    Member maxpouliot GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    Canada
    I followed the ultimate system menu 4.0 guide guide (without intsalling bootmii) and after the 4.0 updater i get a black screen when i start my wii and can't do anything! Can anybody help me?
     
  2. wiiman123

    Member wiiman123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    938
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Damn thats not good. Very bad indeed.
     
  3. SherlockHolmeboy

    Member SherlockHolmeboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    Country:
    Australia
    I've got some bad news for you. You're bricked.
     
  4. Retrievil

    Member Retrievil GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    Not sure if you can be helped ... without bootmii or preloader there isn't really any way to recover as far as I know. Best bet would be to look on craigslist or something for someone that installs modchips and fixes bricks in your area. They might be able to help you.

    Not to be snarky, as I hate people doing that, but why didn't you install Bootmii, do a NAND backup, and install Preloader like the guide says?
     
  5. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Chances are you have Preloader, which got confused during the update. Reinstall it (hold reset while booting to enter its menu) and you should be okay. Or can you not even boot it up?
     
  6. maxpouliot
    OP

    Member maxpouliot GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    Canada
    What will happen if i send the wii to nintendo? (i have a modchip)
     
  7. SherlockHolmeboy

    Member SherlockHolmeboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    Country:
    Australia
    As far as I know, they won't repair it for you, seems installing chips voids your warranty.
     
  8. maxpouliot
    OP

    Member maxpouliot GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    Canada
    Can they repair it and charge me?
     
  9. SherlockHolmeboy

    Member SherlockHolmeboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    Country:
    Australia
    Well, from what I've heard, they'll send you a refurbished Wii if you pay them. It's only what I've heard, though.
     
  10. wiiman123

    Member wiiman123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    938
    Country:
    New Zealand

Share This Page