black screen, only can get to system menu!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by RRoD420, Aug 23, 2009.

Aug 23, 2009
  1. RRoD420
    OP

    Newcomer RRoD420 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    My wii (PRE-LU64+) was hacked with system menu 3.2 w/ preloader 0.28 and starfall hacks installed (SoftMii2.1.1). I updated to 4.1 through wanin's 4.1 updater. Then I decided to follow an up to date guide to install a new cIOS. I followed the wrong guide because my wii only would boot to a black screen OR a frozen distorted screen. The last things I did was run the IOS downgrader and install cIOSCorp 3.3 (Never cIOSCorp again although I don't know if that was the problem) I looked around the forums and then tried to reinstall the system menu. I installed 3.2 wad (through preloader) forgetting that I updated to 4.1, the crazy thing is it booted right into the system menu 3.2 and ran through setup as if it was the first time. So after it loads I reboot the Wii, it boots back into 4.1 automatically and all my channels are still there! (i then remembered i had updated to 4.1). Nothing boots! just goes to a black screen. Even when I boot into preloader 0.28 and try to load a file i get a black screen. WAD MANAGER WILL RUN through preloader but will only function when I tell it use IOS36 instead of IOS249 (FREEZES if i choose IOS249).

    ANY Help or input is greatly appreciated!
     
  2. kLiNiKaL

    Member kLiNiKaL Dr. Greenthumb

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Los Ganjales
    Country:
    Jamaica
    try and load AnyRegionChanger M5 from Preloader, or HBC if you can get into that.

    and let it reinstall a totally fresh 3.2U.

    then start from there.
     
  3. RRoD420
    OP

    Newcomer RRoD420 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    I attempted to boot anyregion changer from preloader and bannerbomb as homebrew channel only boots to a distorted frozen hbc. It boots to a black screen I can no longer start wad manager either. I can use the system menu 4.1 but cant load anything - just black screen or distorted display. What can I do to recover this wii? [​IMG]
     
  4. RRoD420
    OP

    Newcomer RRoD420 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    I changed preloader to boot from ios60 and i now can access the homebrew channel from the system menu. I NEED to get anyregionchanger running so i can go back to 3.2 but it freezes everytime i try to start it from the hbc, bannerbomb and preloader! ANY ADVICE?
     
  5. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    use cios downgrader 1.2 instead of anyregionchanger
     
  6. RRoD420
    OP

    Newcomer RRoD420 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for the link. I downloaded cIOS downgrader 1.2 but it won't boot from hbc or preloader. System menu and HBC are the only things I can boot. I'm only getting a black screen from hbc and preloader just sits at the Loading... text. Can't get into wad manager to reinstall any IOS's. How can I re-install anything to fix this? Thanks for all your help [​IMG]
     
  7. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    Possibly the autoboot disc would help?

    I´ve read somewhere here that there is a autobootdisc which boots wad manager or some.
     

Share This Page