Black screen on MKwii and SSBB

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by sindrefh, Apr 10, 2008.

Apr 10, 2008
  1. sindrefh
    OP

    Newcomer sindrefh Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Norway
    I am having some problems when trying to play my burned games. I have tryed everything, region patcher, brickblocker, freeloader, different burning speeds, different DVD discs, different wiikey configs.
    This is both MKwii and SSBB.

    It all looks ok when I put in the disc and the disc boots up. But when I press "start" I get a black screen and I lose connection to my wiimote.

    I am using 3.2e PAL, wiikey 1.9s, config disc 1.4

    Shouldnt I get an update from SSBB or MKwii in order to get the games to work?

    And when I save a wiikey setting on the wiikey config disc and reboot, it looks like the config settings are back to normal...
     
  2. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    i had this same issue with SSBB yesterday it happened because i had my wii in 60Hz mode which is not supported unless you have freeloader, so either D/L Freeloader or change your wii screen settings to 50Hz in the settings menu (although with me this caused cut scenes to lag, so i suggest you get freeloader)

    EDIT: if that doesn't work then you've prolly got the block updates thing turned on, just turn it off in the wiikey config menu of config disk version 1.4
     
  3. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    You must run the update from Mario Kart Wii (which is 100% safe on your PAL Wii). This should make both games work.
     
  4. knet2020

    Newcomer knet2020 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States

    Think I read on here the wiikey 1.9s maqy need to be downgraded to 1.9g but not 100% sure
     
  5. mercantigo

    Newcomer mercantigo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    Brazil
    Did u blocked updates at your wiikey config disc?

    Your wii needs to be updated before run Mario Kart. This is because SSBB and MK have the 3.1E_v2 firmware update, which is necessary to run these games, even if you have 3.2E.

    Wii Chess have this update, too.

    Check if the Update Blocker is enabled on your config disc. Disabled it , insert a NOT WBBlocked MK or SSBB ISO and try again, without Wii Freeloader. Just insert and update.
     
  6. sindrefh
    OP

    Newcomer sindrefh Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Norway
    I tryed with a "clean" SSBB disc and its still black...

    And I have tryed to downgrade my wiikey to 1.9g as well

    Im really close to giving up now...
     
  7. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    How clean is clean? NO patch whatsoever? NO wiikey block whatsoever? dvd9? layer break correct?
    Just let the patch from mario kart run, it's pal anyway. NO PATCHING of any kind on that iso
     
  8. sindrefh
    OP

    Newcomer sindrefh Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Norway
    I managed to update now [​IMG]

    I just had to put "block updates" to "off" (I thought I allready had done it) and then put a "clean" versjon of SSBB in the drive [​IMG]

    Just tryed MKwii and its working perfect, even managed to add the channel.
     
  9. Gaffa

    Newcomer Gaffa Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    France
    After updating with MK Iso , Wii setting are still on or not?
     
  10. apcarr

    Member apcarr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Manchester,England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well i burnt the game about 5 times,only to find out that it doesnt support 60 Hz,set the wii to 50Hz and bang there it was fine and dandy... doh!
     

Share This Page