Black Screen of Death: Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Miles54321, Apr 10, 2011.

Apr 10, 2011

Black Screen of Death: Wii by Miles54321 at 9:38 AM (9,267 Views / 0 Likes) 29 replies

  1. Miles54321
    OP

    Member Miles54321 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    675
    Location:
    Gateway Headquarters with SonyUSA
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Like 2 days ago my Wii wasn't turning on! I just got a black screen, it was working fine the other day and I didn't touch any programs like Dop Mii for my IOS's or anything, I just played games on usb loader gx and wii ware, I remember moving some wii ware games and virtual console to my sd card!

    The next day I switched it on, it didn't work, just a black screen! I'm thinking it may be over heating, I left it for another day though and it hasn't turned on!

    Could someone tell me what they think the problem could be, also, can anyone give me a good guide to how to unbrick you wii, just incase it is bricked! I have a GC Controller and My NAND backup of my wii system memory!
     


  2. megatron_lives

    Member megatron_lives GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can you boot into bootmi or priiloader if you have them installed?
     
  3. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    Too! Many! Exclamations!
     
  4. M1r0

    Member M1r0 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    Does the light go from green to red?
     
  5. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like a brick! Do you have bootmii boot2 or priiloader installed and can they load? if noty you may well be SOL!
     
  6. Miles54321
    OP

    Member Miles54321 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    675
    Location:
    Gateway Headquarters with SonyUSA
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The light on my Wii goes green but nothing comes on, the screen stays black still! I don't know if Bootmii and priiloader boot up, how do I check that?

    The light goes from red to green when i switch on, on the black ground it stays black!
     
  7. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    To check for bootmii/boot2, when you power the wii on, if the drive slot flashes twice quickly then you have bootmii installed into boot2. You may also compare your serial number to the ones in this thread to see is your wii is at least capable to have bootmii installed into boot2.

    To find out about preloader/priiloader, just hold down the 'reset' button imeadiately after powering the wii on. If priiloader is installed then you will see a menu pop up.

    Last thing to try is doing the savemiifrii trick to see if the system menu is working and if the recovery mode may come up.

    There is a possibility that your bluetooth or wifi module could be bad and be causing your issue right now.

    USB Loader GX has had a recent history of bricking wii's. As long as you have your nand backup then your wii can be repaired. If you don't own an infectus and are not trusting yourself with soldering then you can send your wii to someone like me for reflashing if you don't have bootmii installed to boot2.
     
  8. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    do you have an sd card or memory card plugged in?

    if so, try removing everything and see if it still boots.
     
  9. Miles54321
    OP

    Member Miles54321 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    675
    Location:
    Gateway Headquarters with SonyUSA
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I removed SD card it still didn't boot!

    I pressed the power button and held reset with priiloader on my SD card and without it and I got a stack dump error! I checked my blue light when i switch on my wii and it only flashed once meaning bootmii isn't on right.

    The last thing I installed were wads; Pokemon Rumble, Bomberman Blast and Defend your Castle, do you think one could be defective or do you think it could be a hardware failure?
     
  10. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    most likely one of the wads messed things up. If it crashed while you held down the reset button then priiloader is screwed. I suggest trying a few more times. Only hold down reset, not power too.

    If you can't get priiloader to come up at all then sending it out for repair is your only option.... that is if you can't fix it yourself.
     
  11. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Foez may be too modest to say it, but you can send it to HIM for repairs, he's fixed hundreds of Wii's, and often is able to recover the user's original content (like savefiles, mii's, etc.)
     
  12. wiixale

    Member wiixale GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Italy
    Do you hear nor sound or see video signals? If yes, check the cable(s) you use to connect the Wii through (I'm serious).
     
  13. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    ^^ Seriously, with the THOUSANDS of wii issues I've seen people have, someone always says "check ur cablez", and guess what? It is never the cables. Not once have a seen an issue resolved by someone just checking the cable or replacing it. It does not happen unless there is obvious damage from your dog chewing on them.
     
  14. wiixale

    Member wiixale GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Italy
    It sounded me strange, so this is why I suggested it.

    I'm used to exclude the easier solutions before going on more difficult ones.
     
  15. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    Perhaps someone did not like the idea of you installing wiiware wads, and instead gave you a system menu wad instead. That would be a dirty trick, but could happen. You could have a look at those wads you installed in showmiiwads, see what they are.
     
  16. IggyNignokt

    Newcomer IggyNignokt Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    Try reading my post here. If your issue is the same as mine, see if you can use BootMii or Priiloader to get into the Homebrew Channel and then use MultiModManager to restore your System Menu.

    Good luck!
     
  17. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Thanx noob, but if you read the previous posts you would see that we are already beyond that, an no, bootmii is not installed and priiloader is not working properly.
     
  18. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried SavemiiFrii to see if there is still a functioning system menu?
     
  19. Miles54321
    OP

    Member Miles54321 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    675
    Location:
    Gateway Headquarters with SonyUSA
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My SaveMii came in the mail today, My Wii had a black screen when i turned it on with nothing in but the gamecube controller and Savemii

    I looked at the tutorial guide if you switch it on and you get just a black screen you're meant to put in SaveMii into GC slot a or b!
    I did and the screen is still black!

    What am I meant to do in conjunction with SaveMii? I have a Gamecube Controller Plugged into Port 4 or should I take it out
     
  20. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You should only have the Savemii in. If you already have a GC controller then there was no need to buy a Savemii. If the GC controller method didn't work then Savemii won't, they do the same thing. Sounds like the system menu has gone, in which case you have a nice doorstop.

    You could send it to N and say that it happened whilst trying to update. Worst case is that you will be where you are now, nowt to lose
     

Share This Page