Black Screen fix?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Laderius, Mar 21, 2010.

Mar 21, 2010

Black Screen fix? by Laderius at 10:52 AM (2,060 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Laderius
    OP

    Newcomer Laderius Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I got a bricked wii with an sd card in it, the wii itself boots to just a black screen and nothing else. im looking for a fix based on the information i have available from the SD card.

    Here is whats on the SD card.

    [​IMG]

    Here is the install.log file

    Code:
    HackMii v0.5 installer starting up
    PVR = 00087200
    running under IOS 36 rev 0xc16
    61 titles are installed
    Found IOS 254: revision: 0x7a6a*
    Found IOS 0: revision: 0x0*
    Found IOS 250: revision: 0xffff*
    Found IOS 249: revision: 0xe*
    Found IOS 61: revision: 0x131a.
    Found IOS 55: revision: 0x141d.
    Found IOS 53: revision: 0x141d.
    Found IOS 38: revision: 0xe1a.
    Found IOS 16: revision: 0x200.
    Found IOS 60: revision: 0x181e.
    Found IOS 51: revision: 0x1300.
    Found IOS 37: revision: 0xe1c*
    Found IOS 10: revision: 0x300.
    Found IOS 50: revision: 0x1400.
    Found IOS 36: revision: 0xc16*
    Found IOS 35: revision: 0x410.
    Found IOS 34: revision: 0xc13.
    Found IOS 33: revision: 0xb12.
    Found IOS 31: revision: 0xc14.
    Found IOS 30: revision: 0xb00.
    Found IOS 28: revision: 0x50d.
    Found IOS 22: revision: 0x30c.
    Found IOS 14: revision: 0x107.
    Found IOS 20: revision: 0x100.
    Found IOS 17: revision: 0x206.
    Found IOS 15: revision: 0x10a.
    Found IOS 13: revision: 0x10.
    Found IOS 12: revision: 0xc.
    Found IOS 11: revision: 0x100.
    Found IOS 21: revision: 0x20d.
    Found IOS 2: revision: 0x1a1.
    Found IOS 9: revision: 0x209.
    Found IOS 4: revision: 0xff00.
    IOS versions: Installer: 34, HBC: 61, DVDX: 35
    launching IOS for the installer...starting preparationsCalling boot2_run(1, 34)
    Waiting for boot2 to load ...
    boot2 loaded, waiting for IOS
    IOS loaded: IOS34 v12.19
    IPC started (0)
    parsing last generation bootmap
    found valid boot2 blockmap at block 1 (pos 0x627c0), submap 0, generation 2
    found valid boot2 blockmap at block 5 (pos 0xe67c0), submap 0, generation 3
    parse_blocks: found 2 valid blockmaps
    found 2 valid blockmaps
    using generation 3
    boot2 blocks: 00 01 02 03 04 05 06
    boot2bin @5,0 (blocks=0,1 - bootmii=0)
    bootmii@-1,-1
    boot2 blocks: 06 05 04 03 02 01 00
    boot2bin @5,1 (blocks=6,5 - bootmii=0)
    boot2 block layout: 2 2 1 1 1 0 0
    Assembling boot2 in RAM
    copyright size = 34
    copyright text = 'Copyright 2008,2009 Team Twiizers.'
    tmd ends at 0x80295cec, data starts at 0x80295d20
    bootmii versionÂÂ= '1.1'
    Ok for boot2 install
    preparations done!The test results are in:
    
    ÂÂUsing IOS versions:ÂÂÂÂÂÂInstaller: 34, HBC: 61, DVDX: 35
    
    ÂÂThe Homebrew Channel:ÂÂÂÂCan be installed
    ÂÂDVDX:ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂCan be installed
    ÂÂBootMii:ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ Can be installed
    A BootMii install requires a SD card.
    
    Runtime files will be written, these are required to
    properly boot BootMii.
    
    Mounting SD card...
    Creating directory '/bootmii'...
    Writing '/bootmii/armboot.bin'...
    Writing '/bootmii/ppcboot.elf'...
    Writing config file...
    
    Done.
    
    Removing title 0x00000001000000fe...
    Deleting 1 ticket
    Will i be able to restore this wii?

    Thanks for the help aswell....

    Any information is good seeing as i have no clue and not sure what to start googleing [​IMG]
     
  2. SFenton

    Member SFenton ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Derp
    Country:
    United States
    Does it boot up to the Bootmii menu? If it doesn't, try different SD Cards perhaps or remove it entirely while booting up.
     
  3. Laderius
    OP

    Newcomer Laderius Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    During boot it does not boot to bootmii... just black screen from the start with and without the SD card inserted. Also i have not tried with the bootmii folder on the SD card yet, i plan to do that in the morning [​IMG]
     
  4. SFenton

    Member SFenton ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Derp
    Country:
    United States
    Well yeah, try it with the Bootmii folder. That might get you to Bootmii menu and from there we can figure out the problem.

    What are those WADs?
     
  5. Laderius
    OP

    Newcomer Laderius Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    No idea just stuff that was on the SD card.
     
  6. Laderius
    OP

    Newcomer Laderius Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Not sure if i am doing this right but im trying to get bootmii to load...

    On my SD card i have the bootmii folder with the 3 files in it and updated the ini file
    in /root/ i have keys and nand. it dosent boot or show anything on my screen. just black.

    Am i missing any steps to properly boot this?
     
  7. Laderius
    OP

    Newcomer Laderius Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    savemiifrii didnt work either
     
  8. SFenton

    Member SFenton ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Derp
    Country:
    United States
    Did you personally put those WADs on? I see you're a USA region and one WAD is entitled IOS60P. Might that P stand for PAL by any chance?
     
  9. wes11ph

    Member wes11ph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    basement lvl-249
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    so you didn't install bootmii as boot2 right?
     
  10. SFenton

    Member SFenton ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Derp
    Country:
    United States
    If I'm reading the log correctly, I think that it is indeed installed as Boot2.

    Perhaps this is a repeat of the incident that happened a few months ago, where someone had a freak power outage during the BootMii installation?
     
  11. wes11ph

    Member wes11ph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    basement lvl-249
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    according to your picture above the bootmii folder is missing on the sd card.

    if you can somehow got those files maybe you can try to test it again to boot to bootmii.

    edit:
    BTW how did it brick?

    installation of some kind or you just woke up with a brick wii?
     
  12. SFenton

    Member SFenton ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Derp
    Country:
    United States
    No, he says he moved the files on and tried.
     
  13. wes11ph

    Member wes11ph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    basement lvl-249
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    if he got bootmii as boot2 and bootmii files on the sd.
    it should boot or,

    he got a different low level brick.
    (maybe he can check the av cable first [​IMG] )
     
  14. Laderius
    OP

    Newcomer Laderius Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    def not the AV cable check it with the other wii's one which is in working condition. savemefrii didnt work nothing seems to work... maybe i can scrap this one out [​IMG]
     
  15. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Sounds lke an SD card to me but surprising that it doesn't boot without the SD card in there?

    I had a card (4GB) which wasn't compatible with BootMii and would blackscreen on boot but take the SD card out and it was fine.

    It looks like you installed BootMii as boot2 but didn't make a NAND backup? And there aren't any BootMii files/directories on the SD card.
    Mounting SD card...
    Creating directory '/bootmii'...
    Writing '/bootmii/armboot.bin'...
    Writing '/bootmii/ppcboot.elf'...
    Writing config file...


    Did you make a NAND backup and did you backup the BootMii files?
     
  16. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    The SD card has a Hacks.ini file on it which could indicate that prii/preloader is installed on the Wii. Have you tried pressing and holding the reset button whilst pressing the power on button of the wii (i.e on start up) to access it?
    BTW are you trying to fix it for a friend or bought it in this condition? Your information on what happened prior to this issue is sorely lacking!
     
  17. Laderius
    OP

    Newcomer Laderius Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Friend gave it to me after buying a new one. I could care less if i get it fixed. However this trouble shooting stuff is pretty fun [​IMG] anyways, he said he had it softmodded and updated the system with the new mario and it bricked. bootmii isnt on boot2 its like the system reset all prior settings, i get no two flashes on startup, savemefii didnt work either, however both attemps had no disk in the tray
     
  18. wes11ph

    Member wes11ph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    basement lvl-249
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    follows deadly's advice. that would bring to life.
     
  19. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    "updated the system with the new mario and it bricked"

    then it's not a bootmii issue, your friend just overwrote it with the update's boot2v4 as it seems..

    and yes, you need an infectus at least to flash bootmii and revive this wii.. log suggest that this wii has boot1 that allows bootmii@boot2 installation... luckily you don't need a nand backup...
     

Share This Page